Our View editorials | SteamboatToday.com

Our View editorials

Our view: Everyday heroes

July 17, 2018 — Anyone who happened to be listening to scanner traffic on July 10 would have heard police officers, firefighters and first responders from almost every agency in Routt County called out to respond to a series of emergency events that unfolded over the course of an

Learn more »

Our view: The Steamboat brand

July 12, 2018 — Smartwool announced new leadership at the end of last month with Jen McClaren stepping into the role of president after former company president Travis Campbell was promoted to vice president and general manager of The North Face, Americas. It was exciting to learn that Smartwool

Learn more »

Our view: Celebrate local community this 4th of July

July 3, 2018 — The Fourth of July is a day set aside to celebrate freedom and independence. And as we prepare to gather with family and friends in honor of our nation's birthday, we think it's important to reflect on what unites us rather than what divides us

Learn more »

Our view: Yampa Street has been a long time coming

June 26, 2018 — Depending upon your perspective, the completion of traffic and pedestrian improvements on Yampa Street have either been four — or 34 — years in the making. Now, that it’s done, we think the re-birth of Yampa Street is worth celebrating throughout Independence Day week. For decades,

Learn more »

Our view: Checked your spark arrestor lately?

June 19, 2018 — The light rain that fell across Routt County June 17 and 18 took some of the edge off the wildfire danger here. But it wasn't significant enough to warrant complacency so soon after an event like the Buffalo Mountain Fire that threatened homes in Silverthorne last week.

Learn more »

Our view: Steamboat still digs dogs

June 12, 2018 — Anyone who walks along the Yampa River Core Trail or hikes Steamboat Springs area trails, like Spring Creek or Blackmere Drive, may have noticed yellow sign boards that display reminders about dog etiquette. "Be a good neighbor; pick up after your dog," the sign reads

Learn more »

Our view: Get ‘er done Steamboat council

June 5, 2018 — The Steamboat Springs City Council is currently in the process of hammering out an annexation agreement with Brynn Grey, the development company that is proposing to build 400 homes in the city over a 20-year period on a 150-acre tract of land on the city’s

Learn more »

Our view: Making the best of a busy summer

June 2, 2018 — We hope that when you picked up your copy of the Steamboat Pilot & Today this morning you looked through our summer preview of events and began mapping out another great summer in the Yampa Valley. We suggest you may want to star the events you

Learn more »

Our view: New chief, new culture

May 29, 2018 — When Cory Christensen was named police chief of the Steamboat Springs Police Department in November 2015, he was tasked with changing the culture of an agency that had been the focus of an outside investigation, which found evidence the city's former top cops presided over

Learn more »

Our View: Hayden is on the rise

May 26, 2018 — The news this month that the Hayden School District was awarded a $38.8 million Colorado Department of Education "Best Grant" to help it build a new 21-century, $61 million school campus has the potential to reshape growth trends in the Yampa Valley. We think Hayden school board

Learn more »

Our view: Routt County needs more foster families

May 23, 2018 — Living in a mountain resort community like Steamboat Springs, we can sometimes fall into the trap of thinking life here is all powder days and bike rides up Emerald Mountain, when in reality, our community suffers from many of the same ills that affect towns

Learn more »

Our view: Vacationers aren’t the only ones who need better transportation

May 19, 2018 — We believe that, just as subsidizing airline flights for the destination vacationers that make our resort economy hum is a critical need, we, as a community, should do more to boost funding for the Steamboat Springs Transit system. Let’s not forget, it's the SST buses that

Learn more »

Our view: Reducing wildfire risk

May 15, 2018 — With wildfire season upon us, we were pleased to learn that Routt County has a new weapon in its arsenal of firefighting tools. Routt County Emergency Management Director Mo DeMorat announced last week the Civil Air Patrol's Colorado Wing, which is an auxiliary arm of

Learn more »

Building affordable housing on both sides of town

May 12, 2018 — Steamboat Pilot & Today was not surprised to learn this week the Reserves at Steamboat affordable apartment complex won the "Peoples' Choice Award," from Housing Colorado on April 26. Housing Colorado is the industry organization that supports professionals engaged in the business of designing, developing

Learn more »

Our view: Spring cleaning time in the Yampa Valley

May 8, 2018 — It's springtime in Routt County, and residents of the Yampa Valley appear to be focused on leveraging the start of the season to spur cleanup efforts across our communities. Over the past week, the Steamboat Pilot & Today has published several letters to the editor

Learn more »

Our view: Reconnecting with the original “locals”

May 5, 2018 — This week's visit by young dancers from Fort Duchesne, Utah, the second in two years, represented a valuable cultural exchange between the modern Ute people and the current residents of Steamboat Springs and the Yampa Valley. It has always felt awkward to us that we don't

Learn more »

Our view: Bipartisan help for parks and wildlife

May 1, 2018 — We were encouraged by the news April 24 that the state legislature had, in an overwhelmingly bi-partisan vote, passed a funding bill for Colorado Parks and Wildlife. The new bill, known as the Hunting, Fishing and Parks for Future Generations Act, awaits the signature of Gov. John

Learn more »

Our view: The facts of childhood deaths must not be hidden from society

April 28, 2018 — Childhood deaths must not be secret

Learn more »

Our view: E-commerce vs. brick-and-mortar stores

April 24, 2018 — The news that Amazon.com Inc. has begun collecting and remitting local sales tax to the city of Steamboat Springs on certain online purchases is a welcome development, and it represents a small step toward leveling the playing field for local retailers. City Finance Director Kim

Learn more »

Our view: Helping every student lead a productive life

April 21, 2018 — Steamboat Pilot & Today has been reporting for quite a few years about the school district's ongoing efforts to assimilate non-native speakers from primary grades to the high school into its classrooms. But we were surprised this week to learn that there are currently 278

Learn more »