Columnists | SteamboatToday.com

Columnists

Community Connections: Exciting news from Northwest Rocky Mountain CASA

February 17, 2018 —  Next month is shaping up to be a significant time for local nonprofit Northwest Rocky Mountain CASA, with an exciting announcement concerning expansion of services already in the works and our seventh annual fundraiser, Dancing with the Stars, just around the corner on March 10. Northwest

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Stubborn dogs

February 16, 2018 — I keep this little personal quote posted at my desk, "Stubborn? You mean smarter than your training skills?" This statement deserves a little scrutiny. Humans, with our complex brains, motor skills and verbal language, tend to subject animals to human morals and behaviors. If we look at

Learn more »

Coventry Chronicles: Not my cup of tea

February 16, 2018 — When thinking of England, a few things come to mind: the Royal Family. Rain. And tea. Tea is a big deal here, in the sense that it's sort of its own food group. When I first moved here, wherever I went, someone would offer me

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: Raising empathetic kids

February 12, 2018 — Every parent wants their child to thrive in the future. But what exactly does that mean? And, in preparing kids for future success, are we nurturing the right qualities? Recent studies suggest that an overemphasis on academic achievement, especially grades and test scores, are causing

Learn more »

Community Agriculture Alliance: Looking for rural living? Know your water source

February 8, 2018 — Are you considering the purchase of a home or vacant land in a rural county area? Know what your water source will be first. Your local Division of Water Resources staff is here to help. If you are purchasing a vacant lot, typically the water

Learn more »

Book review: Memoir uplifts readers when woman takes chance on a Harley Davidson and life

February 8, 2018 — “Harley and Me” by Bernadette Murphy Bernadette Murphy starts her memoir/self-help guide with writing that reads more like literature than advice. "The day is finally starting to soften with the onset of evening as a storm assembles to the southeast.  The sun has been scorching

Learn more »

Tales from the Tread: To Marjorie Perry, from Carl Howelsen

February 6, 2018 — Marjorie Perry was the sister of Charlotte Perry, co-founder of Perry-Mansfield Performing Arts School and Camp. Among her many contributions to the culture and fabric of Steamboat Springs, Marjorie Perry is credited for being the one to invite Norwegian stone mason and ski jumping extraordinaire,

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: Parents are first and most important teacher

February 5, 2018 — “Parents are the first and most important teacher in the lives of their children.” You may have heard that a child’s brain is like a sponge, absorbing large amounts of information from its surroundings. When you were in your first years at school, maybe you

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: I’ve really gone and done it this time

February 3, 2018 — At the end of July last year, I lost my dog Skippy. So many of you emailed or called with sympathy and understanding about losing such a special companion dog. My grief ran deep and emptied my soul out at her loss. I was honored

Learn more »

Celestial News: Behold the Great Orion Nebula

February 1, 2018 — Anyone who has ever looked up at the starry winter sky has seen it, although they might not have known what they were seeing. The three bright stars in a neat little row stand out among the other stars like a neon sign. Some folks

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: ‘It takes a village’

January 28, 2018 — There is a very old proverb, the origin of which has been attributed to and found in various forms of many African languages. It was popularized by a former United States secretary of state — “It takes a village to raise a child.” Whether one

Learn more »

The Coventry Chronicles: A guide to English

January 26, 2018 — After four years of learning — and fumbling with — Italian, my husband and I were slightly relieved to move to the U.K. where we would be able to speak English again. I was pregnant at the time and would give birth in Scotland, and

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: Newborn Network provides support in crucial early years

January 22, 2018 — Why Newborn Network? Because infants do not come with "instructions for proper care and handling." In 1994, the above statement was the inspiration for the Family Development Center to create Newborn Network to offer education opportunities to families in Routt County with very young children.

Learn more »

Community Connections: New year, new training, new mentors

January 21, 2018 — Three, two, one … lift-off! Partners in Routt County has launched into 2018 with the celebration of National Mentoring Month and the final workings of a three-year strategic plan that was built over the last year through an extensive process. One of the first goals

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Current ‘kennel cough’ outbreak best treated with antibiotics

January 20, 2018 — We have identified the contagious organisms in our current "kennel cough" outbreak. All dogs we have tested at Pet Kare Clinic have Mycoplasma along with either Coranvirus or Parainfluinza virus. Usually it takes two respiratory pathogens working together to cause the disease with the virus

Learn more »

Community Ag Alliance: Moonlight with the area rivers roundtable

January 19, 2018 — Water in the West has always been a divisive and fascinating subject. Far-reaching, wildly unpredictable and indelibly humbling, water is the one essential resource that has been harnessed to make life possible in an otherwise unforgiving landscape. Over time, the number of people who can

Learn more »

Talking Green: Take Action on climate change in 2018

January 12, 2018 — It's resolution time — fitness, food, finances, personal growth. In 2018, Yampa Valley Sustainability Council is resolved to mobilize our community around climate action. This year, consider making a resolution to reduce your carbon footprint. Below are strategies for taking action on climate change in

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: The second dog

January 12, 2018 — Okay, show of hands. How many of you already have dog? That was easy. How many of you got another dog/puppy within the last month? There are probably quite a few of you. Trick question: How many of you studiously studied books on canine behavior

Learn more »

Community Agriculture Alliance: The President’s agricultural policy

January 11, 2018 — On Wednesday, this newspaper published an article titled "Trump takes victory lap on taxes with rural US".  The actual article referenced Trump's speech to the American Farm Bureau's annual convention, even though the headline was about taxes and not farming interests. So, I thought that

Learn more »

Book review: Good titles for healthy mind, body and soul

January 11, 2018 — Every New Year I find myself paying attention to the health of my mind, body and soul which are of utmost importance to me. I want to share several books that I have found personally inspirational as a source of support for a healthy mind,

Learn more »