Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Community Connections: Exciting news from Northwest Rocky Mountain CASA

February 17, 2018 —  Next month is shaping up to be a significant time for local nonprofit Northwest Rocky Mountain CASA, with an exciting announcement concerning expansion of services already in the works and our seventh annual fundraiser, Dancing with the Stars, just around the corner on March 10. Northwest

Learn more »

Our view: The graying of Steamboat

February 17, 2018 — We ran to the medicine cabinet for a dose of Geritol this week after reading a Feb. 15 article in the Denver Post reporting that Steamboat Springs ranks first in the United States in terms of the population gain among people 65 and older. Really? Could

Learn more »

Jim Boyne: Thank you Steamboat

February 16, 2018 — The 105th Winter Carnival is in the books as one of the best. On behalf of the board, staff, athletes, coaches and volunteers of the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club, we wish to extend our gratitude for making the carnival exciting for all who participated

Learn more »

Brian Kotowski: Letter offers nothing meaningful in wake of school shooting

February 16, 2018 — Brodie Farquhar’s recent letter to the editor condemns the "thoughts and prayers" offered after the murders in Florida. It contains a laundry list of predictable partisan talking points and contributes absolutely nothing useful or meaningful. We now know that the Florida shooter was reported to

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Stubborn dogs

February 16, 2018 — I keep this little personal quote posted at my desk, "Stubborn? You mean smarter than your training skills?" This statement deserves a little scrutiny. Humans, with our complex brains, motor skills and verbal language, tend to subject animals to human morals and behaviors. If we look at

Learn more »

Coventry Chronicles: Not my cup of tea

February 16, 2018 — When thinking of England, a few things come to mind: the Royal Family. Rain. And tea. Tea is a big deal here, in the sense that it's sort of its own food group. When I first moved here, wherever I went, someone would offer me

Learn more »

Rodney Branstetter: ‘Thoughts and prayers’ do have meaning

February 16, 2018 — On Valentine’s Day, I watched as a Denver 9 News reporter described the tragic murders at a Florida school. After awhile, she said, in a hushed voice, "we will be back in a moment." What followed immediately was an advertisement for a new Hollywood horror

Learn more »

Brodie Farquhar: “Thoughts and prayers” in wake of another school shooting are meaningless

February 15, 2018 — So. Here we are. Again. Valentine’s Day Massacre 2.0 had more casualties that the 1929 gangster hit in Chicago, but fewer deaths and woundings than in Las Vegas. So as these things go, it wasn’t a big mass shooting, but a medium-sized one. That being

Learn more »

Kevin Fisher: Sunlight needs shown on Haymaker process

February 15, 2018 — One of Steamboat's premier municipal resources, Haymaker Golf Course, is in the process of transitioning the head golf professional role from a contract-based engagement to a full-time, paid city position. I support this move, as the previous structure is outdated and can be financially burdensome.

Learn more »

Wallie Morris: Chipping away at bad health care policy

February 14, 2018 — Last week, Congress extended Children's Health Insurance Program —CHIP — funding for the next 10 years. In Colorado, 75,000 children and hundreds of pregnant women can now rest assured they will have access to affordable health care. Extending federal funding for CHIP should be a

Learn more »

Our view: Setting high standards for Steamboat teens

February 13, 2018 — We applaud Principal Kevin Taulman and the Steamboat Springs High School faculty for expecting respectful behavior from their students when attending school-sponsored events. The recent decision to have students and parents sign behavior agreements prior to attending the annual Snowcoming dance last week is one

Learn more »

Rodger Steen: BLM taking step backward

February 13, 2018 — On Feb. 12, our Bureau of Land Management took a significant step backwards by allowing greater waste of the U.S. citizens' petroleum resource. Secretary Zinke is proposing to cancel the recently enacted requirements on petroleum well producers to collect and pay royalties to the federal

Learn more »

Steamboat 2nd-graders thank organizers for Ski Town USA initiative

February 13, 2018 — Printed below are letters from Soda Creek Elementary School second-graders to Lori Keefe, the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club and Christy Sports for hosting the Ski Town USA Initiative, which allowed second-grade students to ski for free at Howelsen Hill. Thank you for inviting us

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: Raising empathetic kids

February 12, 2018 — Every parent wants their child to thrive in the future. But what exactly does that mean? And, in preparing kids for future success, are we nurturing the right qualities? Recent studies suggest that an overemphasis on academic achievement, especially grades and test scores, are causing

Learn more »

James DeFrancia: A parade does not a patriot make

February 12, 2018 — As a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, a Vietnam veteran and a retired Navy commander, I strongly disagree with Dr. Rainwater's comments in a Feb. 10 letter to the editor. A parade does not a patriot make. Service makes a patriot, whether in the

Learn more »

Jon Kowalsky: The Bear thanks you

February 11, 2018 — We here at The Bear wanted to let everyone in our community know just how thankful we are to be surrounded by such incredible individuals and organizations. In the process of this race we made many new friends and were supported 100 percent from many

Learn more »

Johnny Walker: Spring Creek is a treasure worth saving

February 11, 2018 — My name is Johnny Walker. A small group of us conceived the Spring Creek Mountain Park in 1988, and I co-authored the park’s management plan in 1992, which was promptly accepted by City Council. We envisioned an 800-acre wilderness experience adjacent to our growing and, quite wonderful,

Learn more »

Our view: Reading the tea leaves with Alterra Mountain Co.

February 10, 2018 — It's no surprise to resident and destination skiers that the base of Steamboat Ski Area does not compare favorably to our competitive set, whether it is our new sibling resorts at Aspen and Deer Valley, or the base villages at competing Vail and Whistler/Blackcomb. And

Learn more »

Lia Kozatch: Health coverage matters for women and for all

February 9, 2018 — Women's bodies and access to health care are a perennial political battleground in the U.S. This is the only developed country on the planet with no universal health coverage and one of only a few with no guaranteed paid maternity, paternity or family leave. Compared to women

Learn more »

Ken Collins: You can’t make this stuff up

February 9, 2018 — SNL, one of America's favorite satirical "news" programs, could be hanging it up after nearly 42 years. Most of us grew up watching it. Another icon of comedy and satire, MAD magazine, which began in 1952, is calling it quits, also. To lose both so

Learn more »