Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Kristin Bantle: Wear denim to support victims of sexual assault

April 23, 2018 — As a board member for Colorado Coalition Against Sexual Assault, I am deeply passionate about ending the national epidemic of sexual assault by celebrating Colorado Denim Day. The origin of denim day can be read by visiting uwosh.edu/care/denim-day/history-of-denim-day and was conceived in 1998 when an Italian

Learn more »

Scott Tipton: Good riddance to outdated tax code

April 23, 2018 — This year, April 17, marked a day each American dreads: Tax Day. In the weeks leading up to this day every year, Americans scramble to fill out complicated tax forms with the hope that some of their hard-earned money will be returned by the government.

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: Parenting Stress — it matters; management is key

April 22, 2018 — Parenting stress is the stress associated with being a parent. Parents are often juggling jobs, childcare, finances and household duties. Studies have shown that parents who report high parenting stress tend to be "authoritarian, harsh and negative in their reactions with their child," and the

Learn more »

Our view: Helping every student lead a productive life

April 21, 2018 — Steamboat Pilot & Today has been reporting for quite a few years about the school district's ongoing efforts to assimilate non-native speakers from primary grades to the high school into its classrooms. But we were surprised this week to learn that there are currently 278

Learn more »

Local newspapers are vital part of communities; they can have a resurgence

April 21, 2018 — Colorado is booming, but its flagship paper is being hollowed out. Last week, the Denver Post laid off two dozen journalists, just the latest round of cuts demanded by its New York City-based owner. Its headcount has fallen from 250 to around 60 in the span of

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Mentors and memories

April 20, 2018 — I had the pleasure of attending the Colorado State University continuing education program for veterinarians this past weekend in Fort Collins. I went with my husband, Ron, a small animal veterinarian. Two days were jam packed with current trends and research in veterinary medicine in addition to

Learn more »

Dylan Roberts: Doing something about rising healthcare costs

April 20, 2018 — Everyone knows that monopolies are bad for prices and that competition is better for reducing rates. That is exactly why we need more options in our health insurance market. One way to do that is allowing all Coloradans to buy-in to Medicaid, otherwise known as

Learn more »

Beth Lavely: Columbine survivor says ‘never forget; never again’

April 19, 2018 — April 20 marks the 19th anniversary of the school shooting at Columbine High School. Since my time as a student at Columbine, I have tried to develop as a leader working to serve our whole community with diligent evasion of anything that identified me with

Learn more »

Community Agriculture Alliance: Elmer House tells story of homesteaders ‘proving up’ in Hayden

April 19, 2018 — Hayden residents are likely familiar with the stately brick home surrounded by pastureland on Routt County Road 80, north of the railroad tracks. Since its construction in 1917, the Elmer House has become a distinctive and recognizable landmark, a status codified by the Board of

Learn more »

Jason Lacy: News organizations are valuable part of community fabric

April 19, 2018 — On April 14, Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper proclaimed Colorado Journalism Week in order to mark the vital role that local news publications fill in our communities. In the current digital age, where we are connected to news outlets from around the world by one punch

Learn more »

Katie Davidson: Barbara Bush served with grace

April 18, 2018 — I was writing yesterday and had the news on in the background when I heard that Barbara Bush had passed away. I’d heard the day before or so that she had declined going to the hospital and was going to stay home with her family;

Learn more »

Pam Courtney: International visitor wants 8-day, 11-day pass

April 18, 2018 — We have been coming to Steamboat from Australia with our family of 14 people for 14 years in a row and only spend two weeks a year here. The price of this new ticket is way too high as we do not need a pass

Learn more »

Norma Ruth Ryan: Women leadership in Routt County is strong

April 18, 2018 — For as many times we hear of the virtues and power of women’s leadership, we hear its perceived limitations double: “This district isn’t ready for a woman.” “She’s too young.” “What about her family?” The problem with this line of thinking isn’t just that it’s

Learn more »

Olive Morton: Bill Hill is smiling from heaven

April 18, 2018 — Old timers in Steamboat who remember Bill Hill, former leader of the Steamboat Chamber Resort Association and business professor at Colorado Mountain College, know that Bill would be so pleased to see the iconic Steamboat Barn being preserved. He worked tirelessly to find a way

Learn more »

Deirdre Boyd and Jenny Gabriel Shea: Sen. Baumgardner refused to meet with local teachers at Capital

April 18, 2018 — Colorado teachers put democracy into action on Monday. We held a direct action rally at the state capitol and lobbied our state representatives to adequately fund our public schools and to do what’s best for Colorado students. We both teach in Steamboat and went down

Learn more »

Cory Christensen: Newspaper plays difficult role in our community

April 18, 2018 — This week the Colorado Press Association, along with the Colorado Broadcasters Association and the Colorado Media Alliance, is focusing on celebrating and honoring the hard work and dedication of Colorado journalists. Over the course of my career, the media, local and national, have been a

Learn more »

Tales from the Tread: 1898 camping trip

April 17, 2018 — It never ceases to amaze me the historical treasures that come through the doors of the Tread of Pioneers Museum on nearly a daily basis. Just this month, a document was given to the museum titled "John Warren Richardson's 'Camping in the Colorado Rockies (1898).'"

Learn more »

Diane Brower: Methane rule is necessary regulation

April 17, 2018 — In 2016, the Bureau of Land Management adopted a regulation requiring companies to control the amount of methane that leaks into the atmosphere as a result of oil and gas development. The rule replaced a 37-year-old regulation that didn’t reflect current technologies or best practices.

Learn more »

John Fry: Rodeo needs to be part of Howelsen discussion

April 17, 2018 — We might want to consider retaining the PRC Rodeo, with respect to the Howelsen redevelopment discussion, if we wish to retain our core identity and past as a cowboy ski town. The iconic event has only recently considered eliminating Steamboat from the circuit. Lest we

Learn more »

Nancy Spillane: GOP creating plan to discriminate against cancer patients

April 17, 2018 — The GOP-run Department of Health and Human Services is trying to bypass the health care rules Americans fought so hard to establish by expanding a niche type of health insurance. This would adversely affect cancer patients and their families like mine. Most families have a

Learn more »