Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Lou Coggia: Cal Thomas off base, again

July 16, 2018 — Again Cal Thomas in his column on the Brett Kavanaugh nominations, claims that most Democrats care only about abortion and same sex marriage. His narrow-minded view on what he believes concerns Democrats, liberals or progressives deserves a response. Yes, Democrats are concerned about personal freedoms

Learn more »

Monday Medical: Horse safety basics

July 16, 2018 — There's nothing quite like riding a horse through an Alpine meadow, with mountains peaks in every direction. But just as with other outdoor activities, it's smart to stay safe. "Horseback riding is an awesome activity, and we need to encourage it in our valley as

Learn more »

Dave Lambeth: Government without science is ship without rudder

July 16, 2018 — Science is not political. Rather, it is the best process to discover truths about our world. Over the last 150 years, our government wisely established agencies and branches that acquire and summarize scientific knowledge and provide this to the executive and legislative branches so as

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: Early childhood community plan

July 15, 2018 — Whether you're a parent or not, early childhood education impacts you. The availability, affordability and quality of childcare, preschool and school-age programs shape not just the dynamic of a community, but also the economy. Parents face a nerve-wracking process to find childcare in Routt County

Learn more »

Northwest Colorado Health: Be ready for a wildfire emergency

July 15, 2018 — Summer monsoons are providing some relief, but Smokey Bear has not changed his mind; fire danger across Routt County remains very high. While local, state and federal agencies monitor wildfire risk and bolster emergency response and notification plans, it's important residents assume a role in

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Dog at large? Not my dog

July 14, 2018 — It's summer. We're out with our canine buddies, hiking, fishing, boating, on the front porch or just outside. Incidences of dogs running at large increase dramatically during this time of year. And, with that come dog/dog, dog/human, dog/vehicle and dog/wildlife encounters. I did some research

Learn more »

Bob Woodmansee: Intended, unintended results of land management

July 13, 2018 — All of Earth’s ecosystems are influenced by humans, directly through agriculture, forestry, fisheries, natural areas, parks, cities, towns, rural development areas or indirectly through protecting “old growth” forest, native grasslands or aquatic systems from natural events. Even polar regions and the deep ocean are now

Learn more »

Grace Powers: United Airlines needs to improve service into Hayden

July 12, 2018 — I was surprised at the recent survey results stacked against support for more direct flights into Hayden Regional Airport. While we may in fact have enough tourists, my recent experience as a newer Steamboat resident in attempting to depart from and return to Hayden makes

Learn more »

James De Francia: See how your 401K looks after the trade wars

July 12, 2018 — Robert Nestora, in his letter published on July 11, suggests we look at the value increase in our 401Ks since Trump took office and see how fortunate we are, presumably due to the leadership of the White House occupant. Mr. Nestora might also, then, use

Learn more »

Community Agriculture Alliance: Open lands forever – together

July 12, 2018 — Open space has always been a defining feature of Routt County — one of its core attributes that is embedded in our identity, culture and outdoor lifestyle.  It's the first thing that greets us as we crest Rabbit Ears Pass, instantly shaping our perceptions of

Learn more »

Wilderness Wanderings: Danger lurks in the trees

July 12, 2018 — Our local wildernesses can be a great place to experience the outdoors.  But it's important to be aware and cautious of the dangers lurking in the trees. Pine beetles are native insects that have invaded our North American forests for thousands of years. The Mount

Learn more »

Joan Remy: Bicycle town, not

July 12, 2018 — Regarding the letter to the editor, “Incentive proposal to reduce traffic,” in the Wednesday, July 11 issue of Steamboat Pilot & Today, wherein the writer suggests a possible solution to traffic congestion in Steamboat where the City pays $3,000 each to 3,000 people to leave

Learn more »

Our view: The Steamboat brand

July 12, 2018 — Smartwool announced new leadership at the end of last month with Jen McClaren stepping into the role of president after former company president Travis Campbell was promoted to vice president and general manager of The North Face, Americas. It was exciting to learn that Smartwool

Learn more »

Mary Korch: Take responsibility to improve personal health

July 12, 2018 — Stuart Butler’s presentation about the future of healthcare at Seminars at Steamboat was excellent with many good points and thoughts. He lightly touched on improving non-medical services such as home improvements for the elderly to prevent falls. But he didn’t mention unhealthy habits and modifiable

Learn more »

Spoke Talk: Tour de Steamboat supports 4 local nonprofits

July 11, 2018 — Besides the beautiful scenery and fun post-ride barbecue and expo, a highlight of the Tour de Steamboat bike ride is the raffle for a custom, handmade titanium Eriksen bike. Kent Eriksen started the tradition of donating a custom bike to the Tour 12 years ago.

Learn more »

Meghan Hanson-Peters: Steamboat teacher is an inspiration

July 11, 2018 — Congratulations to my colleague Deirdre Boyd for being selected as the Colorado History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Such a prestigious honor is fitting for an educator who tirelessly works to assure that students examine the struggles we

Learn more »

Bruce Alston: An inventive proposal to reduce traffic

July 10, 2018 — Dear Steamboat Springs and Routt County residents, I don’t know if you’ve noticed but to my level of observation, there seems to be a bit of a traffic issue in Steamboat Springs. Maybe it’s just me and my impatient driving habits or because I’ve lived

Learn more »

Robert Nestora: Acting like bad children

July 10, 2018 — Politics has made people whine like bad children. I hear people, and I keep imagining the following. I apologize in advance to children, because none seem to whine as bad as their parents are whining now. Child: She won the popular vote. Parent: She may

Learn more »

Letter: Thank you from Sailors boys soccer team

July 10, 2018 — The Steamboat Springs High School boys soccer team would like to give a huge thank you to Mountain View Car Wash and the Steamboat community for supporting the car wash fundraiser on July 7. We had a great turnout of both players and community members

Learn more »

Ron Wackowski: Strong rules needed for methane venting

July 9, 2018 — I am an oil and gas industry engineering consultant, and I'm disappointed by the recent report by Colorado State University researchers that suggests that the amount of methane vented in natural gas operations may be significantly higher than previously thought. This article in Science magazine

Learn more »