Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Artie Weber: Thank you to Select Super

June 18, 2018 — On behalf of South Routt Elementary School and the Soroco School District, I would like to thank Dawn, Lenard and all the associates and staff of the Select Super grocery market in Oak Creek for the generous donation of the 300 eggs that you contributed

Learn more »

Paul Wellman: Tipton’s commentary showed ‘willful ignorance’

June 18, 2018 — In 2000, Sheikh Yamani, a former oil minister of Saudi Arabia, gave an interview in which he said, "Thirty years from now there will be a huge amount of oil — and no buyers. Oil will be left in the ground. The Stone Age came

Learn more »

Paul Bonnifield: Congress must stop trade wars

June 18, 2018 — President Trump placed $50 billion worth of tariffs on China, more tariffs on Canada, threatened to end NAFTA, imposed tariffs on England and the European Union. China is responding with tariffs on the U.S. Tariffs are taxes, and taxes are both good and bad. Under

Learn more »

Rodger Steen: Scott Tipton and responsible governance

June 18, 2018 — A column by Rep. Scott Tipton was published under "Commentary" on page 8 of the June 13 edition of the Steamboat Pilot & Today. There are so many incorrect statements in that article that limited length of this letter allows me to address only a

Learn more »

Grand Futures: Not everyone’s doing it

June 17, 2018 — Do you ever hear from your kids "Everyone is doing it, dad" or "But, Mom, it's what all the kids are doing?" How many times have you said "Just because everyone is doing, it doesn't mean you have to" and then wished you had some

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: 6 ways to get your kids to sleep

June 17, 2018 — Ever had that moment where you are like "time to get out the Benadryl again" because your kid refuses to go to sleep? You are not alone. Twenty to 30 percent of young children in the U.S. experience sleep problems. As parents, we need to

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Advocacy and dog-dog interactions

June 16, 2018 — The Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary defines the term, advocate, as "one that supports or promotes the interests of another." Recently I have run across several incidences that prompted me to write about this piece of dog guardianship that seems to be forgotten or somehow missed. Years

Learn more »

Anita Merrigan: Endangered species are not impediments to economic progress

June 15, 2018 — Representative Scott Tipton's opinion column, published on June 14 in the Steamboat Pilot & Today, attempts to make the case for opening Colorado's Western Slope to increased energy extraction and the Jordan Cove/Pacific Connector Pipeline. The increased resource extraction and the pipeline construction would be

Learn more »

Sharon Raggio: Celebrate the courage to live

June 15, 2018 — This week new information was released about the steady increase in suicide across our country. Suicides have increased significantly, and I know we all are concerned. There are many great suicide awareness campaigns and prevention methods currently being deployed in Colorado, and yet my observation

Learn more »

Community Agriculture Alliance: Locally sourced

June 14, 2018 — STEAMBOAT SPRINGS — Handmade bicycles and local agriculture have more in common than you might think. The Moots Colorado Ranch Rally is celebrating the fifth edition of this 50-mile fundraising event Saturday, June 16 with proceeds benefiting the Community Agriculture Alliance. This relationship between cycling

Learn more »

Steven Hofman: TABOR works for taxpayers

June 14, 2018 — Dear Editor, Brodie Farquhar's June 11 letter, "TABOR only works for conservative ideologues," tries to have it both ways. In criticizing the column by Jennifer Schubert-Aiken and Amy Oliver Cooke, he writes "TABOR only works for conservative ideologues who want to shrink government until it

Learn more »

Spoke Talk: If spokes could talk

June 14, 2018 — If the spokes on your bike could talk what would they say? Some people could come up with a poetic hymn, words of encouragement, or a detailed account of crashes — but for me personally, they wouldn’t say a thing. Riding a bike in the

Learn more »

Wilderness Wanderings: Deep snow persists on upper Zirkel Circle

June 13, 2018 — How much fun can you have postholing through hip deep drifts of snow? If you said "zero," you're like me – it's hard work and no fun. Unfortunately, that's what you can expect if you hike the ever popular Zirkel Circle during the next couple

Learn more »

Scott Tipton: We must utilize Western Colorado’s vast natural resources

June 13, 2018 — Western Colorado is home to vast natural resources that can and will power the economy through the 21st century and beyond if responsibly developed. It is the role of the federal government to monitor and manage the development of natural resources, which is why I

Learn more »

Our view: Steamboat still digs dogs

June 12, 2018 — Anyone who walks along the Yampa River Core Trail or hikes Steamboat Springs area trails, like Spring Creek or Blackmere Drive, may have noticed yellow sign boards that display reminders about dog etiquette. "Be a good neighbor; pick up after your dog," the sign reads

Learn more »

Dave Roy: Thanks Steamboat community for making the Storm a success

June 12, 2018 — On May 11, John F. Russell wrote an article updating the status of the Steamboat Storm college summer baseball operation informing our community of the suspension of both the Storm and the Mountain West Summer Collegiate League. As the team’s business manager I want to

Learn more »

Ken Collins: It’s not Trump’s policy affecting the U.S. economy

June 12, 2018 — Our present day leader is always bragging about two things. How he won the electoral vote, as antiquated as it is nowadays. The only mention of the popular vote is when he claims millions of illegal votes were cast. Sad. And the other claim is

Learn more »

Vail Kovatch: Trust women’s health care service providers

June 12, 2018 — The recent attacks and threats on Planned Parenthood funding from the Trump administration aren't new, especially here in Colorado. In fact, Planned Parenthood of the Rocky Mountains hasn't received Title X Family Planning Program funding for decades because past state officials put up barriers. Planned

Learn more »

Laura Beauregard: RiverView developers should be required to provide more public benefit

June 11, 2018 — RiverView is a large development that’s already approved, spanning from Third and Lincoln to the Rodeo Bridge. While the density is already over twice what the code allows, there is a current request for more height, density and lots with one less access drive. RiverView

Learn more »

Brodie Farquhar: TABOR only works for conservative ideologues

June 11, 2018 — I read with interest the defense of the Taxpayer's Bill of Rights, or TABOR, mounted by Jennifer Schubert-Aiken and Amy Oliver Cooke in the Thursday edition of the Steamboat Pilot & Today. These conservative leaders, from the Steamboat Institute and Independence Institute, gave readers a

Learn more »