Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Tom Ross: Steamboat Whistle publication provides glimpse of summer tourism in the 1960s

July 20, 2018 — Can you recall distant summers when Steamboat Springs was a mostly undiscovered ranch town? Were you hanging out in Steamboat when summer tourism relied primarily on camping, fishing and horse shows?

Learn more »

Community Agriculture Alliance: Come hell or low water

July 19, 2018 — The 2018 water year, which runs from Oct. 1, 2017 to Sept. 30, 2018, is shaping up to be a record-setter for low water.  The optimist in me is just hoping to get through with no major fires in Northwest Colorado. The pessimist is on

Learn more »

Sarah Woodmansee: Public land choices impact future

July 19, 2018 — Federal public lands are managed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the Department of Interior. Activities for management are funded as parts of the federal budgeting process and by fees for leases and products from these lands, like timber oil, gas, mining, grazing, recreation

Learn more »

Our view: Everyday heroes

July 17, 2018 — Anyone who happened to be listening to scanner traffic on July 10 would have heard police officers, firefighters and first responders from almost every agency in Routt County called out to respond to a series of emergency events that unfolded over the course of an

Learn more »

Linda Delaney: Hand off my money

July 17, 2018 — I have been paying into Medicare and Social Security every month for more years than I care to mention, and that money is mine. That money was invested in good faith and redeeming that investment is not an entitlement. It is highly unlikely that I

Learn more »

Master Gardener: Paint my garden purple

July 17, 2018 — Unintentionally, my garden is a sea of purple flowers.  The flowers are blooming on a few natives and a non-native, all in shades of purple and all in bloom at the same time.  Before now, I would have thought that a garden of only purple

Learn more »

Lou Coggia: Cal Thomas off base, again

July 16, 2018 — Again Cal Thomas in his column on the Brett Kavanaugh nominations, claims that most Democrats care only about abortion and same sex marriage. His narrow-minded view on what he believes concerns Democrats, liberals or progressives deserves a response. Yes, Democrats are concerned about personal freedoms

Learn more »

Monday Medical: Horse safety basics

July 16, 2018 — There's nothing quite like riding a horse through an Alpine meadow, with mountains peaks in every direction. But just as with other outdoor activities, it's smart to stay safe. "Horseback riding is an awesome activity, and we need to encourage it in our valley as

Learn more »

Dave Lambeth: Government without science is ship without rudder

July 16, 2018 — Science is not political. Rather, it is the best process to discover truths about our world. Over the last 150 years, our government wisely established agencies and branches that acquire and summarize scientific knowledge and provide this to the executive and legislative branches so as

Learn more »

From the Publisher: Pilot & Today is on the move

July 15, 2018 — STEAMBOAT SPRINGS — The last month has been one of big changes at the Steamboat Pilot & Today, first with new leadership and now, with an office move back to downtown Steamboat Springs. First, let me introduce myself. I am the new publisher here at

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: Early childhood community plan

July 15, 2018 — Whether you're a parent or not, early childhood education impacts you. The availability, affordability and quality of childcare, preschool and school-age programs shape not just the dynamic of a community, but also the economy. Parents face a nerve-wracking process to find childcare in Routt County

Learn more »

Northwest Colorado Health: Be ready for a wildfire emergency

July 15, 2018 — Summer monsoons are providing some relief, but Smokey Bear has not changed his mind; fire danger across Routt County remains very high. While local, state and federal agencies monitor wildfire risk and bolster emergency response and notification plans, it's important residents assume a role in

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Dog at large? Not my dog

July 14, 2018 — It's summer. We're out with our canine buddies, hiking, fishing, boating, on the front porch or just outside. Incidences of dogs running at large increase dramatically during this time of year. And, with that come dog/dog, dog/human, dog/vehicle and dog/wildlife encounters. I did some research

Learn more »

Bob Woodmansee: Intended, unintended results of land management

July 13, 2018 — All of Earth’s ecosystems are influenced by humans, directly through agriculture, forestry, fisheries, natural areas, parks, cities, towns, rural development areas or indirectly through protecting “old growth” forest, native grasslands or aquatic systems from natural events. Even polar regions and the deep ocean are now

Learn more »

Grace Powers: United Airlines needs to improve service into Hayden

July 12, 2018 — I was surprised at the recent survey results stacked against support for more direct flights into Hayden Regional Airport. While we may in fact have enough tourists, my recent experience as a newer Steamboat resident in attempting to depart from and return to Hayden makes

Learn more »

James De Francia: See how your 401K looks after the trade wars

July 12, 2018 — Robert Nestora, in his letter published on July 11, suggests we look at the value increase in our 401Ks since Trump took office and see how fortunate we are, presumably due to the leadership of the White House occupant. Mr. Nestora might also, then, use

Learn more »

Community Agriculture Alliance: Open lands forever – together

July 12, 2018 — Open space has always been a defining feature of Routt County — one of its core attributes that is embedded in our identity, culture and outdoor lifestyle.  It's the first thing that greets us as we crest Rabbit Ears Pass, instantly shaping our perceptions of

Learn more »

Wilderness Wanderings: Danger lurks in the trees

July 12, 2018 — Our local wildernesses can be a great place to experience the outdoors.  But it's important to be aware and cautious of the dangers lurking in the trees. Pine beetles are native insects that have invaded our North American forests for thousands of years. The Mount

Learn more »

Joan Remy: Bicycle town, not

July 12, 2018 — Regarding the letter to the editor, “Incentive proposal to reduce traffic,” in the Wednesday, July 11 issue of Steamboat Pilot & Today, wherein the writer suggests a possible solution to traffic congestion in Steamboat where the City pays $3,000 each to 3,000 people to leave

Learn more »

Our view: The Steamboat brand

July 12, 2018 — Smartwool announced new leadership at the end of last month with Jen McClaren stepping into the role of president after former company president Travis Campbell was promoted to vice president and general manager of The North Face, Americas. It was exciting to learn that Smartwool

Learn more »