Columnists | SteamboatToday.com

Columnists

Tales from the Tread: Museum receives 50 Werner family films

October 19, 2017 — The Tread of Pioneers Museum recently received more irreplaceable treasures capturing Steamboat Springs' rich history: 50 reels of Werner family home movie footage. The films are both 8-mm and 16-mm format, color and black and white, and film content dates between 1950 and 1963. The

Learn more »

Community Ag Alliance: Plan now for weed control next year

October 19, 2017 — Another growing season has concluded, and although some weeds remain green, most have ceased growth for the season and it time for property owners and managers to begin planning for next and subsequent year's weed management. There are still  good opportunities to control weeds this

Learn more »

Celestial News: Here come the Orionid meteors

October 19, 2017 — Did you see Halley's Comet when it sailed past Earth in 1985 to 86?  If you missed it, you'll have to wait until 2061-62 for another chance, because Halley's Comet only comes around these parts once every 76 years. In the meantime, you can watch

Learn more »

Superintendent’s Corner: Steamboat Springs School District plans ahead for growth

October 18, 2017 — In a recent letter to Steamboat Today, the Steamboat Springs Board of Education recognized that Steamboat's exceptional quality of life is attracting more and more people to our community. Steamboat Today articles announce emerging housing developments and the recent purchase of Steamboat Ski Resort. A

Learn more »

Community Connection: SOS Outreach in Steamboat helps serve youth

October 15, 2017 — In Ski Town, U.S.A., we pride ourselves on having a world class ski and snowboard resort minutes from downtown that everyone can enjoy.  Our economy flourishes with every snowflake, and SUV's with ski racks line the roads heading to the mountain every day.  While most

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: When reading is harder than it should be

October 15, 2017 — Don't be fooled by the title; learning to read is hard. Stanislas Dehaene outlines in his book, “Reading in the Brain,” our brains were not originally designed to read.  Our brains were designed to hunt for food and look out for predators, not to create

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: What was I thinking?

October 14, 2017 — Most of our regular readers and friends know that my dog Skippy died suddenly at the end of July.  The loss and grief can still sneak up on me unexpectedly.  Many have gone through this loss at one time or another.  You know it when

Learn more »

Community Ag Alliance: Cloverdale Restaurant to receive Historic Routt County’s Preservation Leadership Award

October 13, 2017 — Every year Historic Routt County recognizes an outstanding preservation leader or preservation project in Routt County. The recipients are projects and people familiar to you, efforts that have enriched our community, enhanced our awareness and appreciation of Routt County’s history and shown us that historic

Learn more »

Coventry Chronicles: Hard decisions

October 7, 2017 — Hello from Coventry. As I write this, I'm reminded that I could be saying, "guten tag from Germany." In between hockey seasons this past summer, we were presented with a decision: Where to next? We felt ready to move on from Scotland, where Ryan had

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Just say ‘no’

October 7, 2017 — A while back I was meeting a client to work with his reactive dog.  I arrived at our location ahead of time to make sure there were no activities going on that would conflict with our session.  Since I had some extra time I took

Learn more »

Community Ag Alliance: Submit agriculture photos to contest to win $150

October 5, 2017 — Northwest Colorado has several iconic natural landscapes ranging from Fish Creek Falls to Gilpin Lake, down to the Flat Tops and up over Rabbit Ears. However, if you ask both longtime locals and transient newcomers, the most quintessential Steamboat Springs image is the 1972 shot

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: When in doubt, look to me

September 29, 2017 — It seems that we are seeing dogs that are reactive at the sight of dogs, people or novel events with much greater frequency than in past years.  Part of the cause of this may be due to the way our world is today.  There appears

Learn more »

Master Gardener: What is the Master Gardener program?

September 26, 2017 — The Master Gardener program is a class 9 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. one day per week for 11 weeks. One may ask, “Do I really want to spend the grey days of January through the first week in April in a room with no windows?”

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Shaken

September 16, 2017 — It was the day of the total eclipse of the sun. The day was unforgettable for many reasons. We planned to drive north from Craig for the full experience. My husband and I secured our little adopted terrier mix, Lawrence, in the car in his

Learn more »

Misty-eyed rodeo bulls chillin’ in Steamboat Springs

June 30, 2017 — Some of the baddest four-legged athletes in the Rocky Mountains are being pampered in corrals in Steamboat Springs this week, where evaporative cooling “misters” spritz them with water while they prepare for five straight days of rodeo action.

Learn more »

Not recommended: rubber raft saves 1961 float trip

June 23, 2017 — John Fetcher used unorthodox watercraft during 1961 float down Yampa Canyon

Learn more »

Strings Music Festival: Lazy Days of Summer

June 15, 2017 — Summer in a mountain town is gorgeous but lamentably brief. Squashed between May snow squalls and September hard freezes, a Rocky Mountain summer offers a wealth of activities — without enough time to enjoy them all: biking, hiking, camping, fishing, boating, tubing and happy-hour-on-the-patio-ing, to

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Incorporating dog training into everyday life

May 25, 2017 — I have been meeting with a few other dog trainers to create a focus group and preview a new class. Several years ago, Sandra Kruczek and I taught a City Dog class, in which we reviewed basic skills in the classroom, then took our training

Learn more »

Book review: Patchett’s ‘Commonwealth’ a realistic view of family

May 18, 2017 — “Commonwealth,” by Ann Patchett I am a fan of great writing, and Ann Patchett's “Commonwealth” is the epitome of that. Her fans who have read “The Magician's Assistant,” “Bel Canto” or “Truth and Beauty” will not be surprised. In fact, with “Commonwealth,” they might find

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Building a relationship with 2-year-old terrier Lawrence

May 18, 2017 — It has come to this. Our frisky 2-year-old terrier mix, Lawrence, has been enrolled in the Canine Life and Social Skills, or CLASS, program, taught through community education at Colorado Northwestern Community College in Craig. This program has three levels to which our dog/owner training

Learn more »