Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Ken Brenner: Passage of 4B will protect public investment in CMC

October 17, 2017 — I serve you as one of your trustees, elected to protect Colorado Mountain College and the investment you have made in higher education in Northwest Colorado for the past 50 years. The 1982 Gallagher Amendment, combined with Colorado's convoluted tax system and explosive growth on

Learn more »

Katy Lee: 3C, 3D address district’s critical maintenance issues

October 17, 2017 — There are two tax proposals for school funding on the upcoming ballot that merit wider community discussion. Ballot question 3D is a $12.9 million bond request to repair roofs, correct the HVAC system at the middle school and address safety issues at Gardner field. Ballot

Learn more »

Community Connection: SOS Outreach in Steamboat helps serve youth

October 15, 2017 — In Ski Town, U.S.A., we pride ourselves on having a world class ski and snowboard resort minutes from downtown that everyone can enjoy.  Our economy flourishes with every snowflake, and SUV's with ski racks line the roads heading to the mountain every day.  While most

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: When reading is harder than it should be

October 15, 2017 — Don't be fooled by the title; learning to read is hard. Stanislas Dehaene outlines in his book, “Reading in the Brain,” our brains were not originally designed to read.  Our brains were designed to hunt for food and look out for predators, not to create

Learn more »

Our view: Schools are among our most critical assets

October 15, 2017 — The success the Steamboat Springs School District has had in attracting and retaining top-notch teachers and staff is the primary reason our schools are ranked among the top 10 in Colorado. They are the human assets that help to rank our schools among our very

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: What was I thinking?

October 14, 2017 — Most of our regular readers and friends know that my dog Skippy died suddenly at the end of July.  The loss and grief can still sneak up on me unexpectedly.  Many have gone through this loss at one time or another.  You know it when

Learn more »

Community Ag Alliance: Cloverdale Restaurant to receive Historic Routt County’s Preservation Leadership Award

October 13, 2017 — Every year Historic Routt County recognizes an outstanding preservation leader or preservation project in Routt County. The recipients are projects and people familiar to you, efforts that have enriched our community, enhanced our awareness and appreciation of Routt County’s history and shown us that historic

Learn more »

Jim Gill: We need to assess how 1/2-cent sales tax dollars are spent

October 11, 2017 — Regarding Jerry Buelter's Oct. 9 letter to the editor, "3C, 3D address district's most pressing needs", the community and school district thanks for the creation of the original ½-cent sales tax dedicated to the educational needs of our school district truly belongs to all those

Learn more »

Routt County elections team: Come try the new voting equipment

October 11, 2017 — The Routt County Clerk and Recorders Elections Division would like to invite the community to participate in a public demonstration of the new Dominion voting equipment. This demonstration will take place this Saturday, Oct. 14 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. on the Historic Routt County

Learn more »

Rim Watson: Soroco has exceptional employees

October 11, 2017 — In a previous article in the Steamboat Today newspaper, my perception of the South Routt teachers/employees did not come out nearly as strong as I intended. First of all, the issue with the ballot initiative was not in any way caused by board action/decisions; it

Learn more »

Our view: $1 lift tickets are a distraction

October 11, 2017 — It came out of left field when Steamboat Springs City Council President Walter Magill pitched the idea of $1 weekend lift tickets at Howelsen Hill during last week's budget retreat. The purpose of the cheap tickets, Magill said, would be to attract more skiers to

Learn more »

Geraldine Link: Letter writer was wrong about ‘red tape’ act

October 11, 2017 — I am responding to Ron Wackowski's letter to the editor published Tuesday, "Should ski areas be allowed to profit off public lands for free?" Mr. Wackowski's letter to the editor on ski area permit fee retention gets the facts wrong. Mr. Wackowski states that the

Learn more »

Tom Sharp: What happened to the Education Fund Board’s Capital Commission?

October 10, 2017 — To supplement the excellent letter to the editor from my good friend Jim Gill, which appeared in the Steamboat Today on Wednesday, Sept. 27, I was also a member of the Steamboat Springs School Board and the Steamboat Springs Education Fund Board from 1999 through

Learn more »

Ron Wackowski: Should ski areas be allowed to profit off public lands for free?

October 10, 2017 — I just received an email from Congressman Tipton on the "Recreation Not Red Tape Act" being reviewed by the Natural Resources Committee. The congressman points out that ski areas pay a permit fee to the government in order to operate (and profit) on federal lands.

Learn more »

Mayling Simpson: Vote ‘yes’ on 3C, 3D to take care of ‘your’ property

October 9, 2017 — I have a large piece of red artificial track material sitting on my dining room table. It is about the size of a serving platter and very nubby. I picked it up recently while visiting the high school to see the state of the artificial

Learn more »

Erika Murphy: Beef industry positives

October 9, 2017 — I am a rancher who raises Angus cattle for breeding purposes southwest of Steamboat Springs. The beef industry receives lots of negative press at times, so I wanted to focus on some of the positives and offer other perspectives. This only covers a few of

Learn more »

Jerry Buelter: 3C, 3D address district’s most pressing needs

October 9, 2017 — I read with interest your editorial from Sept. 28 entitled, "Our view: Lack of campaign worrisome" and the letter to the editor from Jim Gill, "School district can't exclude positive impact of 1/2-cent sales tax." If I may, I would like to share my thoughts

Learn more »

Our View: Historic ballot questions

October 7, 2017 — In spite of a scarcity of contested candidate races, we believe the implications of the Nov. 7 election will prove to be of historic importance. And we urge Steamboat Today readers to attend the Oct. 11 Election Forum sponsored by the Routt County Democrats, Routt

Learn more »

Coventry Chronicles: Hard decisions

October 7, 2017 — Hello from Coventry. As I write this, I'm reminded that I could be saying, "guten tag from Germany." In between hockey seasons this past summer, we were presented with a decision: Where to next? We felt ready to move on from Scotland, where Ryan had

Learn more »

Dog’s Eye View: Just say ‘no’

October 7, 2017 — A while back I was meeting a client to work with his reactive dog.  I arrived at our location ahead of time to make sure there were no activities going on that would conflict with our session.  Since I had some extra time I took

Learn more »