Opinion | SteamboatToday.com

Opinion

Our view: Valley’s future in hands of Hayden voters?

October 21, 2017 — In many ways, the communities of Steamboat Springs, Hayden and Craig are one big community called the Yampa Valley. Our futures are bound together, with residents traveling back and forth along the U.S. Highway 40 corridor for employment, recreation, education and shopping. And that's why we think

Learn more »

Bette Vandahl: CC4E effort accomplished a lot

October 19, 2017 — Having resigned from the Community Committee for Education — CC4E — on Aug. 22, I can not leave without acknowledging and thanking the wonderfully talented and committed citizens that began organizing February 2016 with the mandate to understand what our community believes is most important

Learn more »

Tales from the Tread: Museum receives 50 Werner family films

October 19, 2017 — The Tread of Pioneers Museum recently received more irreplaceable treasures capturing Steamboat Springs' rich history: 50 reels of Werner family home movie footage. The films are both 8-mm and 16-mm format, color and black and white, and film content dates between 1950 and 1963. The

Learn more »

Community Ag Alliance: Plan now for weed control next year

October 19, 2017 — Another growing season has concluded, and although some weeds remain green, most have ceased growth for the season and it time for property owners and managers to begin planning for next and subsequent year's weed management. There are still  good opportunities to control weeds this

Learn more »

Celestial News: Here come the Orionid meteors

October 19, 2017 — Did you see Halley's Comet when it sailed past Earth in 1985 to 86?  If you missed it, you'll have to wait until 2061-62 for another chance, because Halley's Comet only comes around these parts once every 76 years. In the meantime, you can watch

Learn more »

Mayling Simpson: #metoo

October 19, 2017 — With the recent breaking story about Harvey Weinstein, women all over the country began speaking out about how they too — #metoo — have been sexually assaulted and insulted. The Weinstein story is only the latest in a string of revelations about men in powerful

Learn more »

Diane Moore: Never again will we lose a child to family violence

October 19, 2017 — Advocates Building Peaceful Communities is focusing on increasing awareness in our communities about family violence. Intimate partner violence is a reality in our communities, and according to Police Chief Cory Christensen, has increased 19 percent so far in 2017 compared to 2016. October is National

Learn more »

Superintendent’s Corner: Steamboat Springs School District plans ahead for growth

October 18, 2017 — In a recent letter to Steamboat Today, the Steamboat Springs Board of Education recognized that Steamboat's exceptional quality of life is attracting more and more people to our community. Steamboat Today articles announce emerging housing developments and the recent purchase of Steamboat Ski Resort. A

Learn more »

Rep. Diane Mitsch Bush: Vote ‘yes’ on 4B for CMC

October 18, 2017 — Vote “yes” on 4B. Colorado Mountain College was created as a locally funded college 50 years ago by a vote of 2-to-1. Since that time, CMC has served nearly 500,000 students and is the primary provider of police officers, fire fighters, nurses, early childhood educators

Learn more »

Michelle Dover: Vote ‘yes’ on 3C, 3D

October 18, 2017 — Be on the lookout for your mail-in ballot. I will be voting "yes" on 3C and 3D to ensure the safety of our children, while also being a responsible steward of our community properties. It is important to note that Colorado spends about 25 percent

Learn more »

Roger Ashton: Community-wide solution for community-wide change

October 18, 2017 — The Yampa Valley Housing Authority has a recipe for success. The Reserves at Steamboat, the new low-income housing complex at the corner of U.S. Highway 40 and Elk River Road demonstrates a small community investment can result in big housing successes. Through a public-private partnership,

Learn more »

Tom Zehner: Why is the President hurting people rather than helping them?

October 18, 2017 — The president's agenda has focused on unwinding Barack Obama's legacy. He's more focused on destroying his nemesis than trying to replace, to fix or to improve Obama's biggest accomplishments from the Iran deal to environmental regulation. The White House announced it would no longer pay

Learn more »

John Spezia: Don’t substitute opinions for fact when talking about climate change

October 18, 2017 — What is weather? What is climate? We can get 8 inches of snow on Oct. 1 but wait five minutes, and the weather will change or it can snow any day of the year. This is all weather and describes daily changes in the atmosphere that

Learn more »

Our view: Vote ‘yea’ on 5A

October 17, 2017 — Steamboat Springs has been debating the issue of affordable housing for years now, and this fall, citizens have the opportunity to take some action when they consider Referendum 5A, which appears on the Nov. 7 ballot. The ballot measure, proposed by the Yampa Valley Housing

Learn more »

Bud Romberg: ‘Give a dime’ for affordable housing

October 17, 2017 — Affordable housing has been a problem in Steamboat Springs as long as we have been here — 51 years — and the problems get worse when the economy is good and eases when the economy drops off. Finally in 2004, the Yampa Valley Housing Authority

Learn more »

Ken Mauldin: Housing subsidy misguided

October 17, 2017 — The Yampa Valley Housing Authority should place defined, contractual limits on the amount of time a healthy, employable person can receive basic housing subsidy from taxpayers. Otherwise, the workforce housing problem in our community will only get worse, never better. While it’s a noble endeavor

Learn more »

Ken Brenner: Passage of 4B will protect public investment in CMC

October 17, 2017 — I serve you as one of your trustees, elected to protect Colorado Mountain College and the investment you have made in higher education in Northwest Colorado for the past 50 years. The 1982 Gallagher Amendment, combined with Colorado's convoluted tax system and explosive growth on

Learn more »

Katy Lee: 3C, 3D address district’s critical maintenance issues

October 17, 2017 — There are two tax proposals for school funding on the upcoming ballot that merit wider community discussion. Ballot question 3D is a $12.9 million bond request to repair roofs, correct the HVAC system at the middle school and address safety issues at Gardner field. Ballot

Learn more »

Community Connection: SOS Outreach in Steamboat helps serve youth

October 15, 2017 — In Ski Town, U.S.A., we pride ourselves on having a world class ski and snowboard resort minutes from downtown that everyone can enjoy.  Our economy flourishes with every snowflake, and SUV's with ski racks line the roads heading to the mountain every day.  While most

Learn more »

Thoughtful Parenting: When reading is harder than it should be

October 15, 2017 — Don't be fooled by the title; learning to read is hard. Stanislas Dehaene outlines in his book, “Reading in the Brain,” our brains were not originally designed to read.  Our brains were designed to hunt for food and look out for predators, not to create

Learn more »