Yampa Valley Sustainability Council announces winners | SteamboatToday.com

Yampa Valley Sustainability Council announces winners

The 2011 Sustainability Award recipients, honored during the Yampa Valley Sustainability Council presentation, include, from left, Audrey Williams, facilities director at Steamboat Ski & Resort Corp; Cindy Gantick, fifth-grade teacher at Soda Creek Elementary School; Sonja Macys, executive director of Yampatika; and Meg Bentley, former City Council member.

— The Sustainability Award winners were announced Wednesday by the nonprofit Yampa Valley Sustainability Council. The second annual awards honor individuals, businesses and organizations that have shown exceptional dedication to sustainability in the Yampa Valley during the past year, according to a news release. Award winners are as follows:

■ Educational Achievement Award: Green Team staff and students at Soda Creek and Strawberry Park elementary schools along with the Engineering Club at Steamboat Springs High School for the Energy Bike project.

■ Lifetime Achievement Award: Meg Bentley for unwavering support of environmental and sustainability issues throughout her tenure on Steamboat Springs City Council.

■ Environmental Achievement Award: Steamboat Ski and Resort Corp. facilities department for excellence in natural resource conservation and environmental protection through the application of sustainable practices.  

■ Sustained Contributor Award: Yampatika, including the Legacy Ranch project, for demonstrating leadership by example through a long-term contribution to the sustainable cause and to the Sustainability Council through education, government involvement, research or the development of technology.  

■ Honorary Contributor Award: Routt County Facilities Manager Tim Winter for outstanding contributions to improve the sustainable community and working as a tireless advocate for conservation, energy efficiency and renewable energy for county facilities.

Recommended Stories For You

Go back to article