Town Board to consider annexations |
Tamera Manzanares

Back to: News

Town Board to consider annexations

The Hayden Town Board on Thursday will begin considering a group of annexation proposals for properties southeast of the Sagewood subdivision along Routt County Road 53.

David Frith, Frank and Sue Weidner, and Thomas and Jaylyn Trapp have submitted applications for their three properties, which total about 27 acres.

The properties are directly east of the proposed Lake Villages residential and light industrial subdivision. The developer of Lake Villages, West Routt Properties, wants to build an access road or boulevard to the project from C.R. 53 through Frith’s property, which is about 25 acres.

The town’s planning consultant, Tim Katers, said at a Planning Commission meeting last week that developers are in the process of purchasing the Frith property. It is unclear whether they also are purchasing the other two parcels.

Although the annexations are not required for the Lake Villages boulevard, they would give the town ultimate control of trails, wetlands, open space and other future issues within the bypass, according to Katers’ report to the commission.

“There is no clear rationale not to bring this parcel into the community,” he said in the report.

Town Manager Russ Martin has recommended the board accept the applications as complete and schedule a public hearing April 7.

The board likely will make a final decision regarding motions to annex the Routt County Fairgrounds, Dry Creek Park, the skatepark and three private properties.

The Planning Commission last week recommended the board’s approval of the motions, the result of a long effort to bring the fairgrounds and Dry Creek Park into the town. The skatepark and smaller properties owned by the Bertram, Kistler and Jazwick families, are along Poplar Street and have been included in the process to help clean up boundary issues in that part of town.

In other business, the board plans to fill a vacant position on the town’s Economic Development Commission. Amber Hall, Martha Cannon and Tom Allen have applied for the spot.

The Town Board’s regular meeting begins at 7:30 p.m. Thursday.