Steamboat ski teams struggle at state |

Steamboat ski teams struggle at state

Sailors’ Alpine, Nordic boys in 4th, girls in 3rd after opening day

Luke Graham

— The Steamboat Springs High School Alpine and Nordic teams struggled Thurs­­day in the opening day of the Colorado State Skiing Championships.

The Steamboat boys sit fourth and the girls sit third after Thursday's giant slalom and classic events.

Each team came in with big expectations — and still have the opportunity to move up today — but faced some unfortunate misgivings Thursday.

In the Alpine event, Tommy Lyon paced the boys with a sixth-place finish. Jeffrey Gay, after having to hike, finished 13th and Dane Dixson finished 14th. Expected top-10 finisher Connor Bernard fell on his second run.

"We'll definitely have better luck with slalom," Steamboat coach Chad Bowdre said. "A lot of times it's coming down to, can we put together two runs."

On the girls side, Sarah White paced the Sailors with a seventh-place finish. Megan Rosa was 10th and Linnea Dixson was 12th.

Recommended Stories For You

On the Nordic side, Steamboat was led by Dominique Powers and her 12th-place finish. Linnea Dixson battled a crash that cost her a minute and finished in 18th.

Jack Burger led the boys Nordic team in 20th. Wilber Ranieri was 22nd.

"They gave it all they had," coach Emily Lovett said. " it wasn't anything with them not trying."

The State Ski Champion­­ships continue today with the slalom race slated for 9:30 a.m. and the Nordic skate race scheduled for 3:30 p.m.

State Ski Championship results

Alpine giant slalom


7. Sarah White

10. Megan Rosa

12. Linnea Dixson

17. Suzanne Lyon

22. Rachel Grubbs

23. Mallory Hoots

25. Martha Anderson

32. Marnie Buckley


6. Tommy Lyon

13. Jeffrey Gay

14. Dane Dixson

34. Matthew Dennis

40. Kris Kolvereid

DNF Connor Bernard

DNF Alec Schaffer

DNF Peter White

Nordic classic


12. Dominique Powers

18. Linnea Dixson

23. Martha Anderson

25. Mallory Hoots

29. Eva Lambeck

30. Sarah White

38. Pichya Nimi

43. Hannah Barkey


20. Jack Burger

23. Wilber Ranieri

33. Dane Dixson

38. Peter White

Go back to article