Steamboat Pilot & Today advertising team receives national honor |

Steamboat Pilot & Today advertising team receives national honor

Steamboat Today

The Steamboat Pilot & Today advertising staff gathers around the counter in the ad department for their twice-a-week "success meeting," where staff members share their biggest success of the day. From left, Cynthia Tyler, Matt Roberts, Karen Gilchrist, Kelsey Martin, Kathy Wichelhaus, Scott Stanford, Meg Boyer, Emma Scherer, Heather Biewick, Dan Tullos and Deb Proper. Not pictured: Katie West

— The Steamboat Pilot & Today's advertising staff received a national award for innovation Thursday at the Local Media Association's Fall Conference in Atlanta.

The Pilot & Today received the Advertising Innovation of the Year Award, presented to the newspaper with the best advertising initiative regardless of circulation size. The Pilot & Today was recognized for implementing initiatives across multiple advertising platforms. Specifically, the newspaper significantly has increased digital advertising sales and launched a variety of new products including Best of the Boat, and social media management.

Advertising Director Meg Boyer accepted the award on behalf of the newspaper's advertisting staff.

"I want to thank the Local Media Association for recognizing the work of our team at the Steamboat Pilot & Today," Boyer said. "Our business faces any number of challenges as people alter the ways in which they consume news and information. We have worked hard to adjust our product offerings and advertising strategies to keep up with the needs of readers and advertisers alike. It is nice to be recognized for that work."

Boyer also thanked Suzanne Schlicht — chief operating officer of The World Co., which owns the Pilot & Today — for challenging the advertising team to be innovative and for giving the team the freedom to take risks and experiment.

Members of the Pilot & Today advertising sales staff include Boyer, Sarah Anderson, Heather Biewick, Kerry Crimmins, Karen Gilchrist, Becky Kassemi, Kelsey Martin, Deb Proper, Matt Roberts, Emma Scherer, Bonnie Stewart, Dan Tullos, Cynthia Tyler and Kathy Wichelhaus. Members of the advertising creative staff include Laura Tamucci, Stephanie Corder, Seve DeMarco, Rachel Girard, Fran Reinier and Todd Wilson.

Recommended Stories For You

Local Media Association is the only nonprofit, professional trade association specifically serving the suburban and community newspaper industry.

Go back to article