Steamboat lacrosse, baseball players earn recognition |

Steamboat lacrosse, baseball players earn recognition

Luke Graham

— After wrapping up its third straight Mountain Conference championship the Steamboat Springs High School boys lacrosse team dominated the all-conference squad.

Seniors John Burrow and Erik Owen were named to the first-team along with junior Lance Ostrom.

Jackson Coe, Grant McCannon and Wilber Ranieri were named to the second team, while Patrick Weston and John Wharton were named honorable mention. Ostrom was named the team's most valuable player.

"All those kids did a good job and deserved the award," said Steamboat coach Bob Hiester, who was named Co-Coach of the Year. "They were all standouts at their positions."

Burrow, who was a captain and will play lacrosse at Adams State College in Alamosa next season, also was named honorable mention all-state and played in the 2011 Forelicher-Toll Colorado All-State Game on Tuesday.

Baseball players honored

The Steamboat Springs High School baseball team had three players named to the Western Slope League's all-league team.

Recommended Stories For You

Tommy Lyon and Tyler Brown were named to the first team, while Brandon Clark was named honorable mention.

Lyon hit .450 this year and led the Sailors in all offensive categories. Brown was the Sailors' most consistent pitcher, picking up three of the team's four league wins and four of its seven overall wins.

"He was our most dominant pitcher and other coaches recognized that," Steamboat manager Kellen Baker said.

Clark, a three-year starter at catcher, hit .420 and was second on the team in all major offensive categories.

The all-league girls soccer list wasn't available Thursday.

To reach Luke Graham, call 970-871-4229 or email

Go back to article