Steamboat cross-country skiers dominate Durango |

Steamboat cross-country skiers dominate Durango

Luke Graham

Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club cross-country skier Mallory Richey competes in Durango during the weekend. The Winter Sports Club qualified a record 14 J2 and older skiers for the Junior Nationals in Soldier Hollow, Utah. The competition begins Monday.

— The Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club's cross-country ski team wrapped up its Rocky Mountain Nordic Junior National Qualifying during the weekend in Durango with a historic finish to the season.

As a team, the club accumulated enough race points to win the Colorado Cup for the fourth consecutive year. The team beat out nine other Colorado winter sports clubs for the title.

The Winter Sports Club also qualified 14 J2 and older athletes for the Junior Nationals, which begin Monday in Soldier Hollow, Utah.

The races in Durango featured ideal conditions. The first race was a classic 1.5-kilometer sprint.

Katy Floyd was first in the J5 girls category. Avery Harrington was second in the J4 girls. Sven Tate was third in J4 boys while Jordi Floyd was first in J3 girls. Evan Barbier was second in the J3 boys, and Abbey Habermehl was second in J2 girls.

Lucy Newman and Haley Piske won the J1 and OJ girls categories, respectively, while Charlie Von Thaden was second in the OJ boys category.

Recommended Stories For You

On the second day of competition, a skate race, Steamboat again notched top finishes.

Grey Barbier was second in J6 boys, Katy Floyd again won the J5 girls and Sven Tate was second in J4 boys.

Anna Burkholder was third in J3 girls while Gretchen Burkholder was third in J2 girls.

Cara Piske was third in the J1 girls, Haley Piske again won the OJ girls event and Von Thaden was second in the OJ boys division.

The team now prepares for the Junior Nationals competition and will take its largest contingent yet.

Those qualifying for the competition include OJ skiers Von Thaden and Haley Piske; J1 skiers Max Scrimgeour, Evan Weinman, Emily Hannah, Mary O'Connell, Lucy Newman, Madison Keeffe, Dori McNeil and Cara Piske; and J2 skiers Lars Hannah, Gretchen Burkholder, Abbey Habermehl and Katie Brodie. Tanner Heil is a J1 alternate, and Samantha Terranova is a J2 alternate.

To reach Luke Graham, call 970-871-4229 or email

Go back to article