Steamboat briefs: Payment for beekeeping workshop is due Friday |

Steamboat briefs: Payment for beekeeping workshop is due Friday

The Colorado Mountain College Beekeeping Club at the Steamboat Springs campus will be hosting an all-day beekeeping workshop with guru Greg McMahan, of "To Bee or not to Bee" in Denver.

McMahan will be bringing CMC's first bees with him so that attendees can work with them during the workshop. The workshop will include hands-on experience installing the bees into their hives as well as lots of classroom time learning about the ecology, life-history, diseases of bees and how to keep bees.

The cost for the workshop is $75. Proceeds will benefit the Beekeeping Club.

Space is limited, so reserve your spot by calling Elyse Tanner at 970-870-4544 or Full payment is due Friday.

Sumissions for the student film festival are due today

The second annual Steamboat Student Film Festival will take place May 2 and 3 at the Chief Theater in downtown Steamboat Springs.

The Film Festival is accepting submissions from middle school, high school and college students nationwide, who will be competing for $250 in prizes in the six categories of action sports, artistic/experimental, comedy, documentary, drama and original animation.

Recommended Stories For You

Submissions are due Friday. For more information, visit

Ski area and Smartwool to host photo-hunt contest

Steamboat Ski Area is hosting the SmartWool Closing the Boat Instahunt photo contest Friday through Sunday. Participating in the photo hunt is free and participants will:

■ Decipher and photograph each clue. Clues can be found at

■ Post the photos to your public Instagram account.

■ Include #ClosingTheBoat and tag @steamboatresort and @smartwooligan.

The winner will be announced Monday and will win a SmartWool and Steamboat prize pack valued at $300. Find more information and complete rules at

Brain injury support group to hold 1st meeting Friday

A new brain injury support group has formed and its first meeting will be Friday. The group will meet the second Friday of the month from 5:30 to 7 p.m. at Hayden Public Library, 201 E. Jefferson Ave.

The group is for individuals living with brain injuries, Parkinson's disease, strokes, cerebral palsy, epilepsy and veterans with post-traumatic stress disorder.

The support group will:

■ Engage in a community conversation about brain injuries, Parkinson's, cerebral palsy and strokes.

■ Discuss housing, transportation, home community-based attendant services, employment and social/recreational opportunities.

■ Discuss logistics for ongoing effort to identify brain injury goals and provide mutual support.

■ Share information about services available and discuss working together to leverage capacity through collaboration.

■ Discuss agencies and people that provide services.

The group will be facilitated by Leigh Erceg. For more information or to RSVP, call 209-605-3701. If you need transportation, call Jerry Van Voorst, with the Northwest Colorado Center for Independence, at 970-620-3897.

3rd quarter Steamboat Springs High honor roll

■ Ninth grade

Jennifer Adler, Benjamin Andersen, Margaret Anderson, Alexis Balgenorth, Brooke Banning, Evan Barbier, Dane Bessette, Brittany Brown, Hunter Brundridge, Brooke Buchanan, Anna Burkholder, Nolan Connell, Gillian Cook, Emi Costantini, Ellen Crouch, Esther DelliQuadri, Patrick Dillon, Raya Duryea, Chase Erskine, Isabel Feldmann, Mea Fisher, River Fox-Welch, Keala Fraioli, Bryan Gilbertson, Maura Glynn, Matthew Hansen, Charles Harrington, Mary Henry, Grant Janka, Zoe Kirchner, Daniela Lujano, Elizabeth Lukens, Max Lynch, William McConnell, Hadley McGee, Jack McNamara, Mikala Mueller, Caitlin Musselman, Hallie Myhre, Emma Nelson, Colton Pasternak, Sean Portman, Trevor Pyle, Charles Repollo, Leah Rowse, Frank Ruppel, Kelly Ryan, Alejandro Sandoval Hernandez, Nolan Sankey, Nicolette Seifert, Charles Smith, Kellyn Stanhope, Tyler Strnad, Erik Summers, Jacob Taulman, Tyler Terranova, Madeleine Thompson, Sage Turek, Abigail Vandergraaff, Michael VanHara, Kolton Voeltzel, Ethan Walker, Mariah Walker, Mackenzie Ward, Sydney Weber, Emily Wertz, Peter Wharton, Julia Wong and Ellie Zwak.

■ 10th grade

Grant Andrews, Hayleigh Aurin, Charles Beurskens, Grace Bevier, Grant Birkinbine, Joseph Borgerding, Sydney Boyd, Jack Craig, Jacob Crouch, Joseph DeLine, Tait Dixson, Autumn Farnham, Charles Feldmann, William Firestone, Tristan Fischer, Jordan Floyd, Connor Frasier, Nicholas Gibbs, Caleigh Greene, Mary Heil, Taylor Kortas, Jenna Kramer, Sofia Lange, Margaret Lichtenfels, River Ludwick, Ellese Lupori, Annie Martin, Jenna Miller, Finn O'Connell, Kathleen O'Connell, Annie Osbourn, Melissa Requist, Tess Richey, Peter Rosenthal, Logan Sankey, Maria Schaible, Tshering Sherpa, Nicholas Simon, Larkspur Skov, Anna Skubiz, Zachary Skubiz, Alison Speer, Brittney Starks, Tanner Stover, Ross Stuart, Temsup Techarukpong, Samantha Terranova, Mikayla Totman, Alexandra Tumminello, Jack Vanderbeek, Brittain Walton, Payton Wendler, Matthew White, Abigail Wiedel, Maritza Wiedel, Riley Wilkinson, Andrew Williamson, Harry Wilson and Simon Zink.

■ 11th grade

Lindsey Adler, Rebecca Alfone, Carissa Anderson, Lauren Anderson, Laura Barron, Jaquelin Boudreaux, Bruce Darcy, Oliver Dickhausen, James Dickson, Kimberly Dorr, Matthew Espinosa, Amber Finch, Andrew Firestone, Clare Franklin, Colleen Garrecht-Connelly, Meghan Garrecht-Connelly, Olivia Graham, William Gunn, Abbey Habermehl, Mariah Hoots, Elijah Maier, Nicholas Martin, McKenzie Millard, Shannon Parks, Spencer Petersen, Antonio Ranieri, Shannon Ross, Samuel Rossman, Preston Stuart, Nicole Tarcha, Norma Techarukpong, Charles Tisch, Alexandra Waldschmidt, Dylan Wallace, Carolyn Walters, Jennifer Wilber and Erica Yaw.

■ 12th grade

Hunter Anderson, Dustin Andres, Lena Barker, Ellie Becker, Kelly Borgerding, Gretchen Burkholder, Ty Coghlan, Joshua Corbin, Kyle Cordell, Margaret Crouch, Corbin Diehl, Joseph Dobell, Shelby Downey, Amaris Duryea, Robert Elliott, Malia Fraioli, Megan Garcia, Aidan Gibbs, Jasper Good, Ariel Gorham, Alice Holmquist, Kathryn Huselton, Kestral Johnston, Alexandra Josfan, Kadie Kolberg, Kristian Kolvereid, Carter Kounovsky, Daniel Kramer, Calvin Kunst, Kelly Limberg, Marley Loomis, Kira Lorenzen, Sofia Mercado Uribe, Duong Nguyen, Margaret O'Connell, Patrick Paulsen, Rachel Pierce, Cara Piske, Celeste Portillo Ortega, Emily Puffett, Jessica Reynolds Nguyen, Kelbi Rogers, Madison Ruppel, Emma Schmidt, Heather Seams, Harrison Smith, Erik Sobeck, Zachary Sperry, Sara Stout, Eric Tolliver, Trent Trask, Grant Verploeg, Ryan Walker, Evan Weinman, Courtnee Weiss, Casey Weston, Benjamin Wharton, Peter White, Emma Wilson, Michael Wong and Taylor Zabel.

Museum to close Sunday for maintenance projects

The Tread of Pioneers Museum on Oak Street in Steamboat Springs will be closed for maintenance projects Sunday through April 28.

The museum will reopen with normal business hours April 29. Museum hours are 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesdays through Saturdays.

Casey Walter successfully achieves Eagle Scout rank

Casey Walter, son of former Steamboat Springs residents Pam and Abe Walter and brother of Alyssa, has successfully completed all of the requirements and has achieve the rank of Eagle Scout from the Boy Scouts of America.

He is a member of Troop 50 in Carpinteria, Calif. Casey will graduate from Carpinteria High School in June and plans on attending Oregon State University.

Go back to article