Routt County CMC board seat up for election |

Routt County CMC board seat up for election

John Stroud/Glenwood Springs Post Independent

— Routt County's seat on Colorado Mountain College's board of trustees is one of four seats on the seven-member group up for election this fall.

The board's Routt County seat has been vacant since former trustee and Steamboat Springs School District Superintendent Shalee Cunningham moved out of the district earlier this summer. Vying to fill that seat are Steamboat residents Ken Brenner and John Fielding.

Only two incumbents, current board president Stan Orr, of Glenwood Springs, and board member Wesley Duran, of Twin Lakes, are running for re-election.

Also running for Orr's eastern Garfield County seat is Kathy Goudy, an attorney from Carbondale.

And challenging Duran for the Lake County seat will be Patricia Chlouber, of Leadville.

Meanwhile, the current Summit County representative on the CMC board, Dick Bateman, is not able to run again because of term limits, CMC spokesperson Debbie Crawford said.

Recommended Stories For You

Running for that seat in the Nov. 1 mail ballot election will be Richard E. Hague, of Breckenridge, and Dr. Robert C. Taylor, of Dillon.

Crawford said it's the most contested races for the CMC board since 2003.

Although the seven CMC board members represent specific areas within the CMC districts, the seats are voted on at-large by registered voters from throughout the six counties that constitute the district, Crawford said.

Garfield County has two seats on the board. One resident each from Eagle, Lake, Pitkin, Routt and Summit counties also sits on the board.

CMC board members serve four-year terms. The board meets monthly at locations across the district and is responsible for hiring and evaluating the college president, approving the annual budget, certifying the mill levy, establishing college goals and general oversight of the college district.

Go back to article