Primary deadline nears for Routt County voters |

Primary deadline nears for Routt County voters

Monday last day to register, change affiliation for Aug. 10 vote

Monday is the deadline for voters to register or change their party affiliation in time for the Aug. 10 primary.

Voters registered as unaffiliated can affiliate with a party and vote that party's ballot up to Aug. 10, Routt County Elections Supervisor Vicki Weber said this week. But time is short for non-registered voters to sign up — or for voters registered with a party to change their affiliation — and cast a ballot in a primary election that offers contested races for Republicans, Democrats and Libertarians.

County residents can register to vote or change their party affiliation at the Routt County Courthouse in downtown Steamboat Springs, or online through the county's website. Call the Routt County Clerk and Recorder's office at 970-870-5556 with questions.

The Republican ballot offers the most contested primary races, including Routt County's only contested primary — All Crimes Enforcement Team Cmdr. Garrett Wiggins is facing Steamboat Springs Police Department Detective Nick Bosick for the chance to challenge incumbent Democrat Gary Wall in the November election for Routt County sheriff.

Also on the Republican ballot is the U.S. Senate primary between Ken Buck and Jane Norton; the U.S. House race between state Rep. Scott Tipton, of Cortez, and veteran Bob McConnell, of Steamboat; a bid for the Republican nomination for governor between former Congressman Scott McInnis, of Grand Junction, and businessman Dan Maes, of Evergreen; and a bid for the party's nomination for state treasurer between J.J. Ament and Walker Stapleton.

The Democratic primary ballot has only one contested race — the U.S. Senate contest between incumbent Michael Bennet and challenger Andrew Romanoff, both of Denver.

Recommended Stories For You

The Libertarian primary ballot has two contested races: Maclyn "Mac" Stringer and John Finger are squaring off for the party's nomination for U.S. Senate, and Dan "Kilo" Sallis and Jaimes Brown are in a race for the governor nomination.

The Aug. 10 primary is an all-mail ballot in Routt County. Weber said ballots will be mailed July 19. Routt County Clerk and Recorder Kay Weinland said the last day to request a ballot by mail is Aug. 3.

Weber said registered voters who change their party affiliation for the primary can change it back Aug. 11. Voters can change their affiliation as often as they like, she said.


To register to vote or change party affiliation online, visit

By the numbers

Registered voters in Routt County

■ Unaffiliated: 6,476

■ Democrats: 5,209

■ Republicans: 5,032

■ Libertarians: 118

Total: 16,835

Source: Routt County Elections Office

Go back to article