Myller elected to 2nd Steamboat City Council term after defeating Levy |

Myller elected to 2nd Steamboat City Council term after defeating Levy

Jack Weinstein

Scott Myller

— Scott Myller will serve a second term on the Steamboat Springs City Council.

Myller defeated challenger Richard Levy for the District 1 seat Tuesday. He received 55 percent of the vote.

The race for District 1, which includes downtown Steamboat, created perhaps the clearest differences between candidates. Myller and Levy differed on most issues, including funding for the Steamboat Springs Chamber Resort Association's summer marketing efforts, banning medical marijuana businesses and the sales tax measure to support the winter air service program.

In their current roles — Myller on the City Council and Levy on the Steamboat Springs Planning Commission — the two also disagreed on recent development-related decisions. Myller supported Steamboat 700 and the development of Walgreens, while Levy opposed both.

Both, however, were strong supporters of the Bike Town USA Initiative.

Myller, a self-employed architect who has lived in Steamboat for 15 years, said he was excited to keep working on biking efforts. The Apple Valley, Minn., native also said he was looking forward to continuing to help keep the city's finances in order during tough budget times and working to maintain the city's existing assets, including parks and city buildings.

Recommended Stories For You

Levy, 52, said in spite of the result of the election results he still would do what he could to improve the community.

"I'm still involved," he said. "I'm still interested in what goes on with the city."

In addition to serving on the Planning Commission, he is a member of the boards of the Community Alliance of the Yampa Valley and the Trapper's Lake Sierra Club. Levy, a massage therapist, moved to Steamboat in 1993 to volunteer as a park ranger with the U.S. Forest Service.

Myller, Bart Kounovsky (District 2), Sonja Macys (District 3) and Kevin Kaminski (at-large) will be sworn in at the Nov. 8 council meeting.

Go back to article