Tread of Pioneers Museum seeks nominees for Leckenby, Larson awards


Every year, the Leckenby and Larson Awards Committee associated with the Tread of Pioneers Museum looks for nominees for the Leckenby Pioneer Award and the Stanley L. Larson Award. The two awards honor people who have enriched the quality of life in Routt County.

The nominees for the Leckenby Pioneer Award should:

■ Have lived a total of 30 years in the county. The nominee does not have to be living here now.

■ Be involved with the community, responsive to community needs and serve as a representative of the history of the community.

■ Demonstrate personal integrity.

■ Be inspirational to youths.

The qualifications for the Stanley L. Larson Award are:

■ The nominee must have lived in Routt County and must be deceased.

■ The nominee must have made a major contribution to Routt County.

Nominations are due by 4 p.m. Oct. 7. A short summary of the nominee would be helpful. Email nominations to and include your contact information. Previous nominations can be resubmitted. Call 970-879-2214 with questions.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.