Craig city election ballot set

Mayor unopposed; 7 candidates up for 4 City Council seats


The deadline for residents to get their names on the April municipal election ballot came and went Friday without any action, Craig City Clerk Shirley Seely said.

The seven candidates who submitted their 25-signature nomination petitions in the past few weeks will be the only candidates on the ballot.

Mayor Don Jones, who is running for his third and final term, will run unopposed.

Seven candidates will vie for the City Council's four seats open, three of which are for four-year terms and one for a two-year term.

Councilors Byron Willems and Terry Carwile are running for re-election to their second consecutive terms.

Councilor Gene Bilodeau technically is running for his first term as he was appointed to fill former Councilor Rod Compton's vacated seat.

Per the city charter, Bilodeau was permitted to fill Compton's position only until the next municipal election and will have to run for election to complete the final two years. The seat will be up for election again in the 2011 city election, which will put it back on its normal cycle.

Craig residents Francisco Reina, Jennifer Riley and Joe Bird will challenge the incumbents for Council seats.

The top four vote-getters will win the open seats. The person with the fourth-most number of votes will take the two-year term seat.

Councilor Bill Johnston is the only city official not running for re-election because term limits prevent him from serving another consecutive term.

The election will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. April 7, with Centennial Mall serving as the only vote center.

For more information, call Seely at 826-2008.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.