Rep. Al White, R-Hayden, speaks about his state senate campaign Saturday at the Routt County Republicans' County Assembly.

Photo by Melinda Dudley

Rep. Al White, R-Hayden, speaks about his state senate campaign Saturday at the Routt County Republicans' County Assembly.

Monger could run unopposed

No Republican enters District 2 commissioner race at GOP assembly


— The Routt County Republican Party gathered Saturday at its County Assembly to appoint delegates for the party's state convention, discuss issues of political interest and hear from local and regional candidates for the 2008 election.

Declared Republican candidates are Rep. Al White, R-Hayden, who is running for state Senate District 8; Randy Baumgardner of Hot Sulphur Springs and Dan Korkowski of Grand Lake for Colorado House District 57; former Congressman Bob Schaffer and Vincent Martinez for U.S. Senate; Grand County prosecutor Elizabeth Oldham for District Attorney of the 14th Judicial District; Marcia Neal for State School Board; Kay Weinland for Routt County clerk and recorder; Jeanne Whiddon for Routt County treasurer; and Rob Ryg for Routt County coroner.

Incumbent County Commissioner Nancy Stahoviak is seeking re-election for county District 1. No Republicans have announced their intention to challenge incumbent Commissioner Doug Monger, a Democrat, in the District 2 race. The District 3 seat, currently held by Democrat Diane Mitsch Bush, is not up for election.

County Republicans considered 24 resolutions, written since Super Tuesday's precinct caucuses on Feb. 5, to solidify the party's platform. County Republicans supported allocating the city of Steamboat Springs' half-cent sales tax for education proportionally by enrollment between Routt County's three school districts.

A number of the resolutions dealt with immigration policy, and county Republicans indicated their opposition to extending any government services except emergency medical care to illegal immigrants and giving automatic citizenship at birth to their children.

Routt County Republicans will send 17 delegates to the state convention, May 30 and 31 in Broomfield. The delegates and their alternates were selected Saturday.

Eric Berry, Beverly Leck, Hal Noyes and Don Richards were appointed from District 1; Geneva Taylor, Jeff Fry, Jean White and John Shaw from District 2; and Kevin Kaminski, Paul Strong, Heather DeVos, and Del Lockhart from District 3.

White, state Sen. Jack Taylor, R-Steamboat Springs, and Vance Halvorson, chairman of the Routt County Republican Central Committee, were appointed as at-large delegates, along with Nicholas Chaney and Bob Larson.

The number of delegates allowed is based on the number of votes cast for the highest office in the most recent election, Taylor said.

Weinland, a longtime incumbent who is again up for re-election, assured convention-goers that this year's elections will be conducted seamlessly despite recent decertifications and recertifications of voting equipment by the state.

"I have great confidence in the voting equipment," Weinland said. "We're working diligently to conduct the 2008 election in the most efficient way possible."

The Routt County Democratic Party will hold its County Convention and Assembly at 12:30 p.m. Saturday at Howelsen Hill's Olympian Hall. The Democrats will select their delegates and vote on resolutions to finalize the Routt County Democratic Party platform.


Tom Whiddon 9 years, 1 month ago

Weinland, Whiddon and Ryg are not up for re-election until 2010.


Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.