Pilot & Today wins 21 awards


The Steamboat Pilot & Today picked up 21 awards Saturday night at the 130th annual Colorado Press Association Convention in downtown Denver.

Awards were given by circulation class and in three general categories - advertising, photo and design, and editorial. The Pilot & Today competes against other Colorado newspapers with circulations between 7,500 and 15,000.

First-place winners for the Pilot & Today were: Staff, series; staff, editorial layout and design; Samantha Johnston, newspaper promotion; Whitney Stansbery and Gayle Yovis, best use of color in an ad; Deb Proper and Liz Kuzmkowski, best black and white ad; Karen Gilchrist and Andrew Bisbee, best real estate ad; staff, sustained coverage; Dave Shively, sports column writing; Meg Wortman, informational graphic.

Second-place winners for the Pilot & Today were: Editorial board, editorial writing; staff, special section; John F. Russell, sports column writing; Beth Fucaloro and Sarah Steneman, best classified page or section; Deb Proper and Liz Kuzmkowski, small space ad; Mike Hart, informational graphic.

Third-place winners were: Staff, advertising layout and design; Joe Roberts, editorial cartoon; Samantha Johnston, small space ad; staff, Web site - multimedia; Jill Hines, automotive ad; Steve Balgenorth, circulation promotion.

"The awards are a testament to the dedication and talent of our staff - from the reporters to the advertising representatives to the designers and everyone else who makes the daily newspaper possible," Pilot & Today Publisher Bryna Larsen said. "I'm just so proud of our employees and the service they provide our community."

The Durango Herald won the general excellence award for being the top overall newspaper in the same circulation class as the Pilot & Today.

The Pilot & Today's sister newspapers, the Craig Daily Press and Hayden Valley Press, also fared well Saturday.

The Craig Daily Press won the general excellence award for being the top newspaper in its circulation class. The Hayden Valley Press won 13 individual awards.

First-place winners for the Hayden Valley Press were: Steve Balgenorth, circulation promotion; Matt Stensland, photo essay; Matt Stensland, news story; Matt Stensland, business story.

Second-place finishers for Hayden Valley Press were: Sarah Steneman, black and white ad; Deb Proper, small space ad; Melinda Mawdsley, education story; Steve Balgenorth, circulation promotion.

Third-place finishers were: Brent Boyer, deadline news reporting; Luke Graham, sports event story; Beth Fucaloro and Sarah Steneman, best classified pages or section; Steve Balgenorth, black and white ad; Matt Stensland, agriculture story.

The Colorado Press Association is made up of member newspapers from across the state. This year's contest entries were judged by the Minnesota Press Association.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.