Museum accepting nominations for prestigious awards


— Do you know someone who spends countless hours volunteering or someone who has made major contributions to Routt County during his or her lifetime?

Now is your chance to recognize that person publicly.

The Tread of Pioneers Museum is accepting applications for its 2007 Leckenby Pioneer and Stanley L. Larson awards. Deadline to nominate someone is 4 p.m. Sept. 28.

Candice Lombardo, the museum's executive director, said the awards are meant to recognize Routt County residents who have helped make the area what it is today.

"We are looking for people who have contributed significantly to the county's heritage," she said Thursday. "The awards are a way to honor those special contributions that have enriched the quality of life in Routt County."

In its 27th year, the Leckenby Pioneer Award is given to a living person in Routt County, she said. The Stanley L. Larson Award, in its 25th year, is awarded to someone who lived in Routt County but is now deceased.

To nominate someone for the Leckenby Pioneer Award, the nominee must:

- Have lived a total of 30 years in Routt County. The person does not need to be a current resident.

- Be involved with the community, responsive to community needs (past and present) and serve as a representative of the history of the community.

- Demonstrate personal integrity.

- Be inspirational to youth.

For the Stanley L. Larson Award, nominees must:

- Have lived in Routt County and must now be deceased.

- Have made a major contribution to Routt County.

A volunteer committee that reviews all the nominations chooses award winners, she said.

Those interested in nominating someone for one or both of the awards is asked to provide a short summary of the nominee to the museum. Nominations can be mailed to the Tread of Pioneers Museum, P.O. Box 772372, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477, or e-mailed to Nominations must include contact information for the nominator. Previous nominations may be re-submitted for consideration, Lombardo said.

"We really urge people to submit nominations from the community so we ensure we're looking at all areas of the county," she said.

One person will be chosen for each award and honored at a special dinner in the fall, she said.

Last year's award recipients were Sam Haslem, who received the Leckenby Pioneer Award, and Clarence Light, who was awarded the Stanley L. Larson Award.

Lombardo said while former award winners have been chosen for a variety of reasons, there are a few similarities among the award recipients.

"You'll see a lot of people who have chosen to not only raise their families and work but give their time to something they really believe in," she said. "A continued commitment is what makes the winners stand out."


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.