Pilot & Today wins fourth straight excellence award


The Steamboat Pilot & Today won the General Excellence Award on Saturday as the state's top newspaper in its circulation category.

The award was presented during the annual Colorado Press Association Convention at the Brown Palace Hotel in Denver. It is the fourth straight year that the Pilot & Today has won the General Excellence Award.

The Pilot & Today won in the category for newspapers with circulations between 7,500 and 15,000. The newspaper won the sweepstakes awards in two overall categories: photo and design and advertising. The Aspen Times won the sweepstakes honor in the third category: editorial.

"Crossing the Line: Im--mi-gration in Northwest Colo-rado," a joint series by the Pilot & Today and Craig Daily Press, won the Best of Show Award as the best editorial project in the state regardless of circulation size. Participants in the six-part series included Autumn Phillips, Tyler Arroyo and Allison Miriani of the Pilot & Today and Michelle Perry, Brandon Johansson and Andy Smith of the Craig Daily Press.

"I believe the 'Crossing the Line' series is significant and important journalism that shows what can happen when two community newspapers pool resources to highlight a serious issue," Editor Scott Stanford said. "I could not be more proud of our staff and the staff of the Daily Press."

Other first-place winners for the Pilot & Today were Susan Cunningham, feature story; Christine Metz, agriculture story; Brent Boyer, deadline news reporting; Phillips, Arroyo, and Miriani, series; John F. Russell, sports column writing; Arroyo, sports photo; Miriani, feature page design; Miriani and Jayme Elrod, news page design; Miriani, informational graphic; Karen Gilchrist, black and white ad; Kevin Olsen, small space ad; and Gilchrist, real estate ad.

Second-place winners for the Pilot & Today were Metz, feature story; Melinda Mawdsley, sports story; Arroyo and Phillips, picture-story combination; Metz and Tom Ross, sustained coverage; Mawdsley, sports column writing; staff, service to the First Amendment; Russell, news photo; Russell, photo essay; Olsen, use of color in an ad; Brian Bruellman, small space ad; Whitney Stansbery, automotive ad; Bryna Larsen and David Taylor, newspaper promotion; David Harlan, Web site -- community; and newspaper staff, classified page or section.

Third-place winners included Russell, news photo; Miriani, feature page design; newspaper staff, black and white ad; Jennifer Tonk, automotive ad; and Sarah Jacobson, classified page or section.

The Daily Press won General Excellence in the category for daily newspapers with circulations less than 7,500. The Daily Press also won the advertising and photo and design sweepstakes.

The Hayden Valley Press won the advertising sweepstakes for weekly newspapers with circulations less than 1,750.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.