Class Notes for March 13


YVEA awards students Steamboat Springs

Lauren Furnish of Steamboat Springs High School and Ashley Meadows of Soroco High School were selected by the Yampa Valley Electric Association as the recipients of an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. The trip is part of the Yampa Valley Electric Cooperative's 2005 Youth Tour awards program.

Seven students representing four school districts within YVEA's service territory competed for the trip. Competitors were evaluated on essays they wrote explaining why they wanted to go on the trip. The competition was open to all high school juniors whose parents are members of the electric cooperative.

Furnish and Meadows will travel to Washington this summer with students from Alaska, California, Idaho, Nevada, New Hampshire, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The students will visit national landmarks in Washington and Virginia. They also will be part of an evening cruise on the Potomac River and will meet several Colorado congressmen. At Youth Day, the students will learn about rural electric cooperatives.

The Youth Tour program is designed to help students understand democratic government. It also introduces students to electric cooperatives in hopes they will be future supporters and leaders of them.

For more information about next year's Youth Tour contest, call Jim Chappell at 871-2231.

Whiteman honor roll

Steamboat Springs

The Lowell Whiteman Primary School has announced its honors list:

High honors

Shelby Reed

Ben Von Thaden

Laina Weinman

Christine Wolfe

Honor roll

Ciar Colgan

Shelby Dyer

Christopher Finch

Willow Fitzgerald

David Lea

Mary Rose

Clare Southworth

Kendall Yeager


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.