SSWSC athletes garner awards


Most of the winter sports clubs in the Rocky Mountain Division converged on the Beaver Run Resort in Breckenridge last weekend to honor top athletes at the annual Fall Festival Program.

"It was a very good weekend for our club," said Rick DeVos, executive director of the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club. "We cleaned up in every discipline."

Among the honors the club won was the Fastski Trophy, which is given to the club that accumulates the most top 10 finishes in all age divisions during the season.

"It really speaks to the depth of our club," DeVos said. "It shows that we are strong at every level."

It was the second year in a row that Steamboat's Alpine program pocketed the coveted trophy.

"It's been nice to win it the past couple of years," Alpine coach Terry DelliQuadri said. "Now we have to work to keep the streak going. This one and the Lange trophy are the awards every club wants to win."

This year, the Winter Sports Club finished with 348 points, according the Rocky Mountain Division Web site. Ski Club Vail, which had won the award from 1999 to 2002, finished second with 260 points. Winter Park won the Lange Trophy for sponsoring the best organized ski race last season.

In addition to winning the Fastski Trophy, several Steamboat skiers claimed individual honors at the annual luncheon.

Topping the list was Lane Shipley, who became the fourth Steamboat skier in five years to earn the Mary Magill award. He also was awarded a $2,000 Grant Martin Memorial Scholarship.

Each year, the Mary Magill award is given to the top male and female age-class racers as identified by the accumulated World Cup Points at the Junior Olympics. Molly Winter was the top girl.

The award honors longtime Steamboat Springs resident Mary Magill (1921-1976) who was passionate about bringing young skiers to the sport of ski racing through the Rocky Mountain Division and the Winter Sports Club.

Other Steamboat athletes honored last weekend were freestyle skiers Michael Morse and Eliza Outtrim. They won the Andy Wise award, which is given to the top male and female divisional mogul skiers not currently named to the U.S. Ski Team.

Special jumper Tommy Schwall and Nordic combined skier Alex Miller were named the winners of the Bookstrom award, which are given to the top junior competitors in special jumping, Nordic combined and cross country. Simi Hamilton of Aspen and Ashley Quiggle of Crested Butte won the cross-country honors.

Steamboat also had 42 current or former skiers named to the Colorado All-Star team. The entire jumping/Nordic combined team is from Steamboat Springs.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.