Museum seeks award nominees


The list of past recipients of the Leckenby and Larson awards reads like a who's who in Routt County history.

Names such as James Crawford, Carl Howelsen, Farrington Carpenter, Charlotte Perry and Portia Mansfield serve as reminders of how life in Northwest Colorado has evolved to the present day.

But they and the others who have received the prestigious awards during the past two decades aren't the only ones who had a lasting and significant impact on life in the Yampa Valley.

Now, the Tread of Pioneers Museum is asking for the help of area residents to identify and nominate individuals worthy of the Leckenby Award and Stanley L. Larson Award.

For the past 24 years, the museum has presented the Leckenby Award to a living Routt County individual who is or was actively involved in the community, responsive to past and present community needs, contributed to the future and represented the history of the community.

Leckenby Award recipients must be 30-year residents of Routt County, though it's not necessary that they live here now. Potential recipients also must demonstrate personal integrity and be an inspiration to youths.

Natalie Stanko, the 2003 recipient of the Leckenby Award, was recognized for her career in education as well as her contributions to the area through her work with 4-H and church.

Other recent recipients of the Leckenby Award include Elaine Gay, Bill Bowes, Don Lufkin and Dee Richards.

The Larson Award has been presented annually since 1982. The award recognizes a deceased individual who served the public institutions of the area, preserved local history or contributed to the county's heritage.

Larson Award nominees must have lived in Routt County, must be deceased and must have made a major contribution to the county.

Last year's Larson Award was given to Delano Scott, a longtime banker who was active in numerous community groups and governmental bodies.

The museum is accepting nominations for both awards, which will be presented in November. Tread of Pioneers Director Candice Lombardo said nomination letters should include a short summary of the nominee. All nominations must be submitted to the museum by Oct. 22. Nominations also can be submitted by e-mailing the museum at

"We just encourage everyone to send in their nominations," Lombardo said.

A five-member volunteer committee selects winners.

"It's always a hard decision," Lombardo said of selecting the winners. "The people who are nominated are always deserving. It's never easy."

-- To reach Brent Boyer call 871-4234

or e-mail


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.