Museum board members chosen


Members of the Routt County Museum and Heritage Fund Advisory Board have been chosen and will meet for the first time next week.

The board was put in place by the Museum and Heritage Fund, a resolution approved by Routt County voters this November that imposes a county-wide .3 mill levy to help fund museums and historic organizations.

The tax costs property owners about $2.38 per $100,000 of residential property. Commercial property owners pay $8.70 per $100,000. The total of about $210,000 a year will be divided between the county's museums and historic groups according to school district boundaries and populations.

Steamboat Springs will receive about $117,000 a year, with $18,000 going to West Routt County, about $14,500 going to Oak Creek and Phippsburg, about $3,700 going to Yampa and about $7,700 going to North Routt County.

The remaining funds will go in part to Historic Routt County and in part to a fund for which all groups can apply.

The task set before the advisory board is to create criteria for how money in the granting fund should be used, a method to objectively judge grant applications and a timeframe within which to accept applications. The board also will make recommendations to Routt County commissioners about which projects should receive priority for funding.

Routt County commissioners chose the nine board members last week after conducting interviews and reviewing a dozen applications.

The members who have been chosen will form a "great cast," Routt County Commissioner Doug Monger said.

"It's very diverse, very representative, and there are some great, knowledgeable, educated people on there that are great to work with," Monger said.

The board members chosen are: Jim Stanko and Pete Wither from the Steamboat Springs Area District, Patrick Delaney from the West Routt Area District, Bryan Heselbach from the North Routt Area District, Gary Miller from the Yampa Area District, Bob Baker from the Oak Creek/Phippsburg Area District, Jennifer Schubert-Akin from County Commissioner District I, Shaunna Watterson from County Commissioner District II, and Robyn Watkins Morris from County Commissioner District III.

The granting fund monies will be available soon, so it's important the board meets regularly within the next few months to outline procedures, Monger said.

Besides allocating money from the grant fund, the board could be helpful in uniting museum directors across the county and providing means to collaborate, Monger said.

Another purpose for the board is to create accountability between museums and groups getting the funds and taxpayers supplying the funds.

"We thought it was important because it was that center point between having taxpayer dollars and creating accountability," Monger said.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.