Stettner to receive award

Youth Corps to benefit from Ski Corp.'s Snowball


Rocky Mountain Youth Corps will be the beneficiary of the 22nd annual Snowball, during which Arianthe Stettner will receive the 2004 Hazie Werner Award for Excellence.

Snowball is the annual winter celebration, auction and dance sponsored by Steamboat Ski and Resort Corp. Proceeds from the event always benefit a local non-profit organization such as Rocky Mountain Youth Corps.

Snowball will be held March 6 at the Steamboat Grand Resort Hotel and Conference Center.

"Snowball is a festive way for the community to get together and support organizations that do so much for the people of Routt County," said Chris Diamond, president of Steamboat Ski and Resort Corp. "Rocky Mountain Youth Corps plays a vital role for many children and young adults providing a solid life foundation for these individuals through conservation, mentoring and school programs throughout Northwest Colorado."

Rocky Mountain Youth Corps is entering its 12th year of operation and has touched the lives of numerous youths and young adults through programs that link community, education and environment through service. RMYC's Healthy Lifestyles Mentoring is the basis for all programs and pertains to the well-being of the body, mind and spirit encouraging physical health, academic and life knowledge, and a positive sense of self.

Through strong partnerships with public and private agencies, RMYC has been recognized for its collaborative efforts and community outreach, receiving accolades such as an El Pomar Award for Excellence, the Colorado Association for Environmental Education and Continental Divide Trail Association.

"The Snowball event is a great opportunity for RMYC to enlighten the community about our services," said Gretchen Van De Carr, executive director of RMYC. "Most people think of RMYC in terms of our traditional summer conservation corps; however, through our more innovative programs, Yampa Valley Science School and School-Based Mentoring, hundreds of Routt County middle school students are served each year."

Snowball has earned the recipient as much as $38,000 through auction items, dinner tickets and direct contributions. Some past beneficiaries include Steamboat Mental Health, Yampatika, Steamboat Arts Council, First Impressions, LIFT-UP of Routt County, Advocates Against Battering and Abuse, Northwest Colorado Visiting Nurse Association, Perry Mansfield, Partners in Routt County and Grand Futures Prevention Coalition.

Stettner is the 16th recipient of the Hazie Werner Award for Excellence, established by Ski Corp. to pay tribute to a woman who has, through the pursuit of personal goals, achieved a standard of excellence in her field.

"I am very honored to have been selected to receive this prestigious award," Stettner said. "I have been a weaver for most of my life, but over the years, the medium has changed. Until nearly 20 years ago, I mainly wove fabrics of fiber. These days I've been weaving the fabric of community, yet my inspiration comes from the same source, this beautiful valley and special people who live here."

Stettner, president of Historic Routt County, has worked over the years providing leadership for historic preservation, environment, recycling and philanthropy throughout the county. She has been instrumental in preserving the community's character through restoration projects such as the Mesa Schoolhouse, the Rock Creek Stage Stop and Centennial Hall.

Stettner organized many of the early Environment 2000 conferences and forums, which prompted initiatives in land conservation, historic preservation and sustainable development more than a dozen years ago. For nearly a decade, she was an active member of the Board of Yampa Valley Community Foundation, participating in its evolution into the successful community foundation it is today.

Stettner recently stepped down after seven years on the Steamboat Springs City Council. During her time on the council, the 3,800-acre Legacy Ranch, the Polumbus property at the confluence of Walton Creek on the Yampa River and the Combs parcel on Howelsen Hill were preserved. She was on the council when Gloria Gossard presented the city with her memorable gift of 120 acres on Emerald Moun-tain.

She served on the design committee that restored the Carver Power Plant and incorporated it into Centennial Hall. This project was singled out by first lady Laura Bush in a White House ceremony honoring Steamboat Springs as one of the first eight Preserve America Communities recently.

"In everything she has accomplished, Arianthe has exemplified Hazie Werner's incredible dedication and community loyalty," Diamond said. "Arianthe has played a key leadership role in the Steamboat Springs community and ensured that the community will never forget its past while continuing to look to the future."

Previous Hazie Werner Award winners include Skeeter Werner Walker, Katy Rodolph Wyatt, Eleanor Bliss, Carol Baily, Lucile Bogue, Criss Fetcher, Dorothy Wither, Sureva Towler, Rita Valentine, Geneva Taylor, Carol Schaffer, Gloria Gossard, Jayne Hill, Elaine Gay and Millie Beall.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.