4-H Council holds annual banquet


Tucker Louthan, who has served on the Routt County 4-H Council for the past four years, said it was time to give some other students a shot.

Louthan, 18, served as the council president for the past year, an office now held by Amanda Sumerlin, who recently was elected by fellow council members.

At Saturday's annual Routt County 4-H banquet and awards dinner at the Routt County Fairgrounds Exhibit Hall in Hayden, Louthan gave his final address as president.

"4-H has helped me grow and become an advocate for the future," Louthan said Monday. "I wanted to relay that message to the other members. We are the future."

The senior at Soroco High School said he planned to go on to a junior college and continue to be part of the rich agricultural history of Yampa Valley. Keeping other 4-H members involved in agriculture will help ensure a strong future for it in the area and across the county.

"Through 4-H, we learn a lot about agriculture and how businesses run," Louthan said. "If we can keep it strong, then our future is going to be strong, as well."

Louthan called the position of 4-H president a "big job," one he said would be served well by the incoming president, Sumerlin.

Still, Louthan will miss his days as a council member.

"I loved it," he said. "It was a great experience. There are a lot of memories that went into it."

One of the highlights of the annual 4-H banquet is the presentation of the Friend of 4-H awards. This year the individual friend award was presented to Lee Meyring and the corporate friend award went to the Mountain Meadow Cattle Company.

"Dr. Lee Meyring was always just an awesome guy to have around and a great person to talk to," Louthan said. "He's always helping us out."

The Mountain Meadow Cattle Company showed its support of 4-H through its purchases of 4-H livestock, Louthan said.

About 300 people attended Saturday's event, which ended with a community dance. The evening, which aims to celebrate Routt County 4-H achievements, featured numerous awards, honors and other presentations.

Outstanding members in the club's junior division are Ceanna Rossi and Michael Rossi. Kimberly Rossi and Kelsey Samuelson were honored in the intermediate division; and Chrissy Wilhelm and Sumerlin in the senior division.

The Elk River Wranglers of Clark was named outstanding club and Yampa's Alicia Samuelson was named outstanding leader.

The 2004 4-H council members are Sumerlin, president; Kalvert Shiner, vice president; Courtney Long, secretary; Glenda Long, reporter; Tack Louthan, treasurer; and Hallie Shiner, Heather Wilhelm, Karlie Maneotis and Leslie Koler, senators.

-- To reach Brent Boyer call 871-4234

or e-mail bboyer@steamboatpilot.com


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.