Museum seeks award nominees


Routt County history is full of colorful pioneers and personalities who helped build and improve life in Yampa Valley.

The Tread of Pioneers Museum in Steamboat Springs is asking community members and organizations to help it identify two individuals who have enriched the quality of life in the county.

Since 1980, the Tread of Pioneers has presented the Leckenby Award to a living pioneer in the county and the Stanley L. Larson Award in the name of a deceased individual who made significant contributions in the area.

A recipient of the Leckenby Award must be a 30-year resident of Routt County, though they don't have to currently reside in the county. The recipient must be involved with the community, be responsive to past and present community needs, contribute to the future and be a representative of the history of the area.

Steamboat Springs resident Bill Bowes received the Leckenby Award last year in recognition of his service to the sport of skiing. Bowes was a member of the original county Planning Commission, was chairman of the Winter Carnival for several years, served on the Winter Sports Club's board of directors and was instrumental in acquiring the Poma lift at Howelsen Hill.

Other past recipients of the award include Don Lufkin, Dee Richards, Pat Holderness, Dorothy Wither, Gordy Wren and Lowell Whiteman.

The Tread of Pioneers began awarding the Larson Award in 1982 to recognize, posthumously, individuals who served the public institutions of the area, preserved local history or contributed to the county's heritage.

Nominees for the Larson Award must have lived in Routt County and must now be deceased. Past recipients include Claude Luekens, Carl Howelsen, Minnie Hertzog, Bob Gay, Charlotte Perry and Dr. John Solandt.

Last year's recipient was George Cook.

The Tread of Pioneers awards committee has sent about 100 nomination requests to area residents and organizations. The committee urges anyone to submit the name of someone he or she thinks worthy of one of the awards. Nomination letters should include a short summary of the person being nominated. Nominations must be submitted to the museum by Dec. 1 to be considered. The awards will be presented at the museum in early December. For more information, call 879-2214.

-- To reach Brent Boyer call 871-4234

or e-mail


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.