Steamboat Springs school board to meet tonight


— The Steamboat Springs school board meeting was postponed until today at 7:30 p.m. at the George. P. Sauer Human Services Center in the board room.

The Steamboat Springs school board has been designating Teacher of the Year awards since 1985 with each school nominating one teacher.

However, this year, only three have been mentioned thus far.

For Soda Creek Elementary, Sue Barnes has been nominated. Katie Knezevich was nominated for Strawberry Park Elementary and Lucianne Myhre for the Steamboat Springs High School.

The school board will conduct interviews for an hour before the scheduled board meeting. At the end of the meeting, board members will conclude with one nominee to run for the Colorado Teacher of the Year.

After logistical information, which opens the meeting, principals and directors will give their reports and Mike Smith, president of Steamboat Springs Education Association, will update the school board on certain matters.

Smith said recent teacher surveys will be presented to school board members.

The SSEA has researched and assessed the opening teacher positions for the next five years, which may cause conern for the district, Smith said.

Many personnel matters could be discussed, such as requests for leaves and resignations, along with other business.

On the business agenda for tonight's meeting is the acceptance of gift letters, electing a school board representative to the BOCES board, economic summit contribution and updating an agreement with the Yampa Valley Legacy Education Initiative and the Orton Family Foundation.

The school board has plans to go into executive session to discuss negotiations at 9:20 p.m.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.