Ski patrollers take top honors


— For the second year in a row, a team of Steamboat Ski Patrollers has vanquished its counterparts from ski areas all over the state.

The Steamboat Ski Patrol took top honors during the Colorado All-State Patrol Conference last weekend in Aspen.

Professional ski patrols from Vail, Keystone, Winter Park, Aspen, Breckenridge and Copper Mountain, and other ski areas, couldn't beat the Steamboat crew.

"Our guys didn't even take part in the frivolity the night before," Steamboat Ski Patrol Director John Kohnke said. "Those guys were in bed at 9 p.m., they take it so seriously. They're so passionate about winning that trophy."

Twenty-eight members of the local patrol competed in men's and women's giant slalom, the three-person toboggan event, individual and team derbies and the bomb toss.

The events are intended to test the on-mountain skills used daily by ski patrollers on the job.

They include maneuvering rescue toboggans through difficult terrain, accurately lobbing explosive charges used in avalanche control and athletic skiing.

"To win this award takes plenty of teamwork, training and support from everyone, and this honor is a reflection on the entire patrol team," Kohnke said.

Ski patrol members taking part in the competition included: Mickey Badaracca, Michelle Baxter, Liz Bristle, Jeff Davison, James Desalvo, Tim Fletcher, John Floyd, Dave Gormley, Scott Halliday, Dave Hatchimonji, Mike Hodder, Kate Highland, Becky Kuhl, Troy Kuhl, Kyle Lawton, Amy Lawton, Paula Lepporoli, Bill Linneman, Joe Packard, Joel Perry, Terin Petersen, Charlie Reynolds, Brian Sieve, Jeff Sumskis, Steve Hayslip, Dave Estey, Kohnke and Mike Baumann.

Steamboat built its win on the strength of its giant slalom skiers; Floyd and Kuhl won the individual titles in GS.

Charlie Reynolds was third among the men, and Amy Lawton and Terin Petersen came through with fourth and sixth place among the women.

Both the Steamboat men and women were first in the giant slalom team event.

Other champions included Jeff Davison, Joe Packard and Brian Sieve in the team derby.

The derby event resembled an "extreme skier-cross."

Floyd, Petersen and Reynolds combined to win the three-person toboggan event with Michelle Baxter, Steve Hayslip and Dave Gormley grabbing second.

Kyle Lawton was third in the individual derby and James Desalvo picked up fifth place in the bomb toss.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Requires free registration

Posting comments requires a free account and verification.