Steamboat Telemark skiers win titles |

Steamboat Telemark skiers win titles

Shane Anderson and Erika Walters take top spots in Montana race

— It was just another day in Whitefish, Mont., for Steamboat Springs Telemark skiers Shane Anderson and Erika Walters.

But it was another good day.

Both skiers topped their divisions Friday, the second day of the 2010 U.S. Telemark Nationals at the Big Mountain at Whitefish Ski Resort.

Anderson won the classic event in 1 minute, 43.55 seconds en route to winning his second national title in the men's elite division. In the classic race, skiers race a giant slalom section; go over a pro-style jump where they are penalized for short jumps; perform a reipeløkke — a 360-degree turn — at the bottom of the course; and ski a cross-country section. Anderson adds the title to the one he won in Thursday's giant slalom event.

Charlie Dresen raced to third in the men's elite division in a time of 1:48:32, and Jeffery Gay was fourth at 1:49.98.

Walters followed suit by winning the women's elite division with a time of 1:56.90. It also

Recommended Stories For You

was her second title of the week after she topped Thursday's giant slalom event. Her teammate Madi McKinstry was fourth with a time of 2:05:56. She also was fourth in the women's giant slalom race Thursday. Zoe Taylor was sixth, Annecy Hillmuth was ninth, and Elizabeth Klemer was 10th.

Rick Walters topped the Junior 1 division for skiers ages 14 to 19, and teammate Tanner Visnick was first in the Junior 2 division for skiers 13 and younger.

The championships continue today with the sprint classic. The race is similar to the classic with shorter downhill and cross-country sections. The skiers also will make two runs in the event, compared with one run in the classic.

Go back to article