Steamboat Springs Stage Race takes off |

Back to: Explore Steamboat

Steamboat Springs Stage Race takes off

Annual event opens Friday, continues through Monday

Catherine Johnson

— The third annual Steamboat Springs Stage Race opened Friday with what seemed like a short 6.5-mile jaunt up River Road. 

But with headwinds and crosswinds playing a role in the Aspire Performance Individual Time Trial, the course proved tougher than most thought. 

In the SM Pro 1-2 division, Golden's Chris Carr was the top finisher in 16 minutes, 31.97 seconds. He'll have a one-second lead over Daniel Harm when Saturday's second stage begins.

Steamboat's Barkley Robinson finished 32nd, almost three minutes back. 

In the SM 5565+ field, Kim Workman won in 17:19.70. Steamboat's Kent Eriksen is 2:13 seconds back. 

Chris Phenicie won the SM 35+ division in 17:09.78. Jon Cariveau, of Steamboat, is 2:01 back. 

In the SM 4 division, Steamboat's Sam Chovan took the lead, finishing in 17:52.09. He has an eight-second lead on John Klish. 

Evan Weinman, of the Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club, crossed the finish first in the Junior 15-18 category, registering a 17:26. He'll have a one-second lead on Jake Carson. 

In the SW 1-2, SW 3 and SW 35+ field, Lafayette's Kasey Clark is in first after finishing in 19:13.75. Steamboat's Amy Charity is in fifth, 34 seconds behind.

Michael Hagen leads the SM 45+ field after finishing in 17:45.81. 

Pueblo's Carla Flores leads the SW4, SW 45+, SW55+ division after finishing in 21:43.62. Steamboat's Katie Lindquist is 1:28 back, and Jody Gale is 2:06 back. 

In the SM 35+, 4, SM 45+ 4 category, Derke Teuscher finished first in 18:16.47. Steamboat's Ryan Kerin is 2:26 back. 

In the SM 3 category, Jeff Chmielewski finished first in 17:05.12. Steamboat's Trevor Walz is 1:01 back. 

The four-day stage race continues Saturday with the new Wildhorse Criterium at Trailhead Lodge. The venue at the base of Steamboat Ski Area features a 1.4-mile loop with technical turns and one climb. It is spectator-friendly. Races begin at 7:30 a.m.