Steamboat skiers make US Telemark team |

Steamboat skiers make US Telemark team

Pilot & Today Staff

— Multiple Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club Telemark ski racers recently were named to the U.S. Telemark national and development teams.

Madi McKinstry, Zoe Taylor, Jeffrey Gay and Charlie Dresen were named to the A team. All but one member of the A team is younger than 21.

McKinstry won the U.S. National Championships in Steamboat last year, with Taylor in second. Gay was third, and Dresen returns to the team after first competing on the U.S. team in 1999-2000.

The development team, for competitors 17 and younger, includes four members from Steamboat. Elizabeth Klemer, Tanner Visnick, Rick Walters and Carolyn Walters will make up the development team.

The shift to a younger team comes on the heels of some of Steamboat's more recognized Telemark skiers announcing their retirement.

Shane Anderson, a three-time national champion who is ranked 14th in the World Cup standings, announced his retirement. Also, Junior World Champion Lorin Paley and Erika Walters are retiring to pursue academic endeavors.

Recommended Stories For You

The U.S. team will compete in regional, national and World Cup Telemark events next winter. The team also will host a World Cup Telemark race series in February in Colorado. Dates for regional races and the national championships have not yet been determined.

Go back to article