Local golf pro earns PGA Teacher of the Year award | SteamboatToday.com

Local golf pro earns PGA Teacher of the Year award

— The Colorado Section PGA West Chapter has recognized Luke Brosterhous, Haymaker's director of golf and instruction, as Teacher of the Year.

The Steamboat Springs professional was honored along with 10 other professionals at the West Chapter's spring meeting April 28 at the Redlands Mesa Golf Club in Grand Junction.

"I was nominated last fall," Brosterhous said. "It's very exciting, and I was a little surprised by the announcement."

Brosterhous said he was flattered when he learned about the nomination but felt that he would need to go through the process a few times before he could be considered a contender for the honor. So when the announcement was made, Brosterhous said, he was surprised to hear his name.

Others in Steamboat Springs have earned Colorado Section West Chapter and Colorado PGA awards in the past.

Hank Franks, who ran the Haymaker course from 1997 until 2009, was honored in 2004 with Merchandiser of the Year for a public course. Franks said he was happy to receive the honor and credited his wife, Wendy, who was running the golf shop inside a modular unit at the time.

Recommended Stories For You

"The PGA professional gets the honor, but she really did the heavy lifting," Franks said.

The Catamount Ranch and Club and its former director of golf Jim Miller was also recognized by the Colorado Section of the PGA in 2007 with the Merchandiser of the Year award for a private course.

The honors for Brosterhous and Hanks came from the West Chapter, which is part of the larger Colorado Section of the PGA.

Brosterhous was automatically nominated for the 2011 Colorado Section Awards that will be announced later this year.

To reach John F. Russell, call 970-871-4209 or email jrussell@SteamboatToday.com

Additional awards from Colorado PGA

■ Golf Professional of the Year: Tom Carricato, GolfTEC-Park Meadows

■ Junior Golf Leader: Alden Richards, Aspen Junior Golf

■ Merchandiser of the Year, private: Mike Mendelson, Bookcliff Country Club

■ Merchandiser of the Year, resort: David Lopez, Beaver Creek Golf Club

■ Merchandiser of the Year, public: Errol Miller, Breckenridge Golf Club

■ Assistant Professional of the Year: Howard Glasser, Eagle Springs Golf Club

■ Warren Smith Award: Tom Apple, Country Club of the Rockies

■ Horton Smith Award: Leslie Core-Drevecky, Murphy Creek Golf Club

■ Bill Strausbaugh Award: Eric Feely, The Bridges Golf Club

■ President’s Award: Jim Muir, Colorado Golf and Turf

Go back to article